We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“coffee” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Mug Restaurant

The Mug Restaurant
Kaunda Street, Jubilee Exchange Building, opposite Lonroh House net to 20th Century Plaza, Nairobi, Kenya
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #171 of 343 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Description: http://maps.google.com/maps/place?cid=1870440982267351090&q=The+Mug+coffee,+Central,+Kenya&hl=en&ved=0CCEQ-gswAA&sa=X&ei=rkx0T4zvPNDQ_AbJg4yhAw&sig2=xeimSqQR0s15KsGbvwguUw
Restaurant details
Description: http://maps.google.com/maps/place?cid=1870440982267351090&q=The+Mug+coffee,+Central,+Kenya&hl=en&ved=0CCEQ-gswAA&sa=X&ei=rkx0T4zvPNDQ_AbJg4yhAw&sig2=xeimSqQR0s15KsGbvwguUw
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“coffee”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

the coffe wasnt that good, I expected better. The black forest cake served was okay but the service was bad....it took around 20 minutes to be attende to

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    3
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Coffee...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

The smell gives you an invitation you just cannot say no to...and of course the coffee itself proves what the smell tell you

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Perfect cafe in nairobi.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

To mathias, i know the management coz I'm a regular there and I think you are wrong to suggest it was an "inside involvement" maybe take care of your belongings next time as indicated on the signs everywhere in Kenya.. As for the coffee and food, the mug is my favorite joint in nairobi

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“We thoroughly enjoyed their cakes for take-out.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Have not tried their coffee yet but was pleased with the cakes. Loved the White Forest and Chocolate cake. I have to say they are better than the Dorman's cakes we tried. The service was good at the take-out counter and friendly.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Avoid”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I had my camera stolen here. Staff - including the manager - instantly became rude when I told them about it, refused to offer any assistance (including to call the police); CCTV was conveniently switched off for the incident. To me, it suggests inside involvement. Best avoided. In any case, the "Americano" I ordered tasted nothing like the real thing.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mug Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Mug Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mug Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.