We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value and Fun!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mdawida Homestay

Save Saved
You added Mdawida Homestay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mdawida Homestay
Sun Valley Estate, Phase 1, House # 135 | Otienda, Langata, Nairobi, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 154 Nairobi B&B and Inns
SAN FRANCISCO
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Value and Fun!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The stay here was amazing. I stayed in February and again in April. Everyone was super friendly and helpful when it came to setting me up with a room and helping me get around town. The location is a little far from town, but there are enough shops around that you do not need to go into town unless it is for something specific. Plus, they will help set you up with a Taxi if need be. They even have some souvenirs to sell if you, like me, need some last minute gifts on your way out to the airport.
It was also some of the best food I had the whole time in Africa and it was different every night.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
1
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

... It is HOME to me ;-). Period.

Ronny and Serah are the best hosts I have ever had. Staying in Their home is the best way to get a slice of Kenyan life. Though I was a vegetarian, i had a great time with food with mixed vegetables and Ugali ! And I could see all things i could see over the the 2 weeks i had in Nairobi, thanks to their planning and advice.

Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for the little outhouse just opposite their main door ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

As a homestay, this is reallt a great place to stay, clean and comfortable and very affordable. A very homely atmosphere, very relaxed and welcoming. Breakfast and dinner is served in the family living room, and the conversation is always lively and flowing with interesting guests from all over the world, and knowledgable advice and support from the owners Serah and Ronnie. Nothing is too much trouble, you only have to ask, including laundry and advice on where to visit and how to get there. Wifi available and the TV is shared in the living room.

For value and service, close to Nairobi, this place cannot be beaten. Fully recommended.

Room Tip: Discuss your requirements before you arrive, and they will do their best to meet your requirements.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SerahMucha, Owner at Mdawida Homestay, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Hey T.J
Thank you so much for writing a response we enjoy having you here and you have become part of our big travel family. Thank you for your support and we hope to see you soon again.
Cheers
Serah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

This place is run by Serah and her husband Ronnie and is situated very close to Nairobi National Park. For the record, Mdawida Homestay provides an extremely basic accommodation, perfect for people who are on budget travel. They also provide lunch and dinner at a very nominal price. However, what made this place special for us was the family atmosphere. They are extremely friendly and will make you feel at home. For us, a big part of our trip was to learn more about Kenyan culture, its people and know more about their lifestyle. Staying with Serah gave us an opportunity to know about Kenya, as she knows it. We would go to the dinning area to have a cup of coffee and would end up spending 1-2 hours just chatting and sharing information about our cultures.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SerahMucha, Owner at Mdawida Homestay, responded to this review, April 5, 2012
Hi
Thank you for the review and I'm glad that you highlighted excatly what we are about, culture and experience for our guests as well as ourselves. Great way to meet people from diverse cultures in the home.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mdawida Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mdawida Homestay

Address: Sun Valley Estate, Phase 1, House # 135 | Otienda, Langata, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome! We have housing and homestay options for singles, couples, groups, volunteers, students and travelers you name it, we have a place for you. Our homestay offers a great location to all that Nairobi has to offer, as well as a superb base for heading out on your travels around Kenya. Many of Kenya's highlights are just a short drive away from our home.A Homestay is a form of tourism and/or study abroad program that allows the visitor to rent a room from a local family to better learn the local lifestyle as well as improve their language ability.Our home stay is warm and welcome to people who want to have a bit of culture, home cooked African meals and get to know about Kenya from real Kenyans. Here you meet people from every corner of the world and the experience is amazing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com and Agoda so you can book your Mdawida Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mdawida Homestay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.