We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooftop cocktails and great nibbles - served at a leisurely pace” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sarabi Pool and Supper Club

Sarabi Pool and Supper Club
Sankara Hotel, Nairobi, Kenya
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #171 of 324 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Tapas
Description: Tapas and cocktail menu by the pool-side
Restaurant details
Description: Tapas and cocktail menu by the pool-side
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Rooftop cocktails and great nibbles - served at a leisurely pace”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

A good place for drinks and mingling with nice views from the rooftop. The cocktails are inventive and the nibbles are very tasty (especially the seafood ones!). However, it can take quite some time to get someone's attention to place your order, and then quite a bit longer for it to arrive - the staff try hard but it seems like they could use some additional help, especially when it gets busy. The live band is a nice touch but was so loud at times that it impeded conversation.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    2
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
“Definitely Not a 5 star”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Saturday night drinks , ordered white wine and we get served warm white wine and the waiter tells us to drink it with ice? Who in the world drinks wine with ice? This happened twice in the same night , they could have atleast chilled the 2 nd one, waiter service super slow, food served without the sauce and lastly ordered some potato dish which stated in the menu would be fried , what we got was boiled potatoes with no seasoning, if I was to eat diet food I would rather eat it at home and not at sankara.overall very low standards ! Huge disappointment :(

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Pretentious at most”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

Came for evening drinks..in a nutshell it is quite disappointing how they treat they're regular guests. Sequence of events:

Arrived at 8pm there's no table-had to look for a waiter to help and we were told that we could wait at the 1st, after we suggested perhaps we could get a drink at the bar while we waited he said fine and ran off.

Eventually a table opened up which we had to notice ourselves and show ourselves to.

Then came the hassle of getting a waiters attention. We asked for a shisha and were told none were remaining-it's amazing how this seems to always be the case! We had to ask for the food menu which we did not see until 15mins later when we had to remind another waiter. And yet another 20mins when we had to attract yet another waiters attention to take our order!

It was very frustrating to see that the only table seeming to get any fantastic service was the one with the champagne! How very shallow!

The best bit about this review is that we are writing while being at the premises-and not hiding the fact that we are-and no one seems to have given a care to it!

What fantastic service-not even one smile and apology!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“Place to be seen”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

This is one of Nairobi's new places to be seen. Service can be very hit and miss to non existent at times. Prices for Nairobi are exorbitantly high. The setting is nice.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, Nepal
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“great place, great bites”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

It's a super nice place to get a bite to eat with friends at any time of the day. The bitings are delicious; we love the shrimp especially!
The drinks are funky, but it's a hit or miss.
They also have shishas.
However, stay away from the burgers! They are absolutely unedible - the meat is more like a paste than anything else!
The staff is very friendly.
If you go at night, bring a sweater, it can get quite chilly up there.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sarabi Pool and Supper Club also viewed

 
Nairobi, Kenya
Nairobi, Kenya
 

Been to Sarabi Pool and Supper Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarabi Pool and Supper Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.