We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't Feel Comfortable At All. Not ForTourist” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Meltonia Luxury Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Meltonia Luxury Suites to your Saves list
Meltonia Luxury Suites
Kindaruma Road | Near the Yaya Mall and Centre, Nairobi 00621, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 105 Hotels in Nairobi
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Didn't Feel Comfortable At All. Not ForTourist”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Just for one night before the safari but I still didn't feel right .The room didn't have any hot water.The facility was dirty ,especial the shower floor.I have to put the towel at the bottom to step on it .Of course since one of my luggage was delayed until the next morning.All my toiletries was on that bag .Really in need for the toothbrush ,I was asking if I can buy one from them .Yes, it will cost $20.00 for the bag with some Q tips.The breakfast was very poor.
Even for only one night but after a very very long flight ,this property didn't do it for me .
The property look more like an apartment than the hotel .As for tourist I don't think it suited us at all since we don't need the facility they provided like kitchenette ,washer and dryer or the living room for that matter.
As for location,We got there late at night and leaving early morning So I do not know exactly where we were ,Can't commend on that.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    22
    10
    6
    1
See reviews for
9
20
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Booked a great hotel deal, then found an excellent tour guide as well! This hotel was very nice and well priced via online deals. Not too far from the city, very good accommodation, nice breakfast, lovely pool, and pleasant staff. The wifi connection was great and good hotel security. The best part of the trip was my choice of airport pick-up driver who then became my personal tour guide for my short 4 day Nairobi stop-over. Michael and Whitcliff were punctual, courteous, mindful of my safety, ethical and provided an excellent half day tour of Nairobi sights, including the baby elephant orphanage, Karen Blixen Museum and Boomas of Kenya. Perhaps most importantly for me, Michael provided some very interesting detailed personal insights to Kenyan politics and national policy, and took me to a women's refuge in one of Nairobi's slum district for a few hours where I was able to see first hand how tough life is for some in developing nations. Contact Michael on michaelochiv@gmail.com

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmestrand, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Meltonia Luxury Suites lays in a quiet area close to several shopping malls and not fare from the center of Nairobi..
The apparments is very nice and the staff is very helpful, especially the receptionis Francis. He runs around the hole day and tryes to get the stay for all the customers. A great guy.
It`s a small but nice pool and an okey resturant.
If you plan to stay in Nairobi this is the perfect place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

very clean and new. taxi is about 600- 800ksh to the city center
small pool and nice braekfast location. going out nearby is not really possible. taxi from the airport was about 1000ksh and the drivers do not know the hotel yet because it's so new. better bring a telephone number of the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We were there in October 2012. Staff were so helpful, apartment was clean and tidy. breakfast was ok. its not in the centre, so if you like a quit place defenitlly its the right choice.They called a lady to organize the safari trip for us.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I agree with the review from World_Trvl1021. The property/apartments are decent and clean, but the staff is in serious need of some customer service training.
You're better off preparing your own meals than relying on the restaurant which is at best average. I think there are far better places in the area for the same amount of money.
Oh, and the credit card machine definately doesnt work so make sure you have cash.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

This is sort of an extended stay facility/apartment complex. While the property is decent and clean the staff is REALLY DRY (including the manager) and lack basic courtesy. RUDE to a degree. I felt that they frown upon the tourists are not interested in folks who are not intending to stay there for months....... We had plans to stay there twice in between safaris and catching flight back home but then we cancelled the second visit because of our awful experience.

There is also a very basic restaurant at this hotel which is EXTREMELY over priced and slow. The women who took our order literally rode a taxi and went to the grocery store/duka to get vegetables to feed us. The food was basic but the meal costed us over $50 for 3 people (no deserts included). Knowing the reputation of Nairobi, you feel that you are captive here don't have any choice (more or less).

Room Tip: Would not suggest for tourists.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Meltonia Luxury Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meltonia Luxury Suites

Address: Kindaruma Road | Near the Yaya Mall and Centre, Nairobi 00621, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 105 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meltonia Luxury Suites is one of the most desirable apartment suites to be in Nairobi. Combining exquisitely refurbished interiors and a fantastic location, this stunning studio and one bedroom flat apartment offers high-quality fixtures. Located in a prime location, near the Yaya Centre and Mall on Kindaruma Road- Nairobi, Meltonia will offer you an atmosphere of tranquility. The trendy rooms are very inviting and secure with their own security intercom phones and panic buttons. Meltonia Luxury Suites has everything you may need for you to feel right at home. An exceptional 3rd floor apartment found within this sought after 24 hour master development boasting a high specification interior and modern features, located on this quiet residential street. Comprising a swimming pool, mini bar and restaurant with Lounge, separate fully fitted kitchen, master bedroom with en-suite shower room and a beautiful balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Meltonia Luxury Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meltonia Luxury Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.