We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay while in Nairobi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Meltonia Luxury Suites

Save Saved
You added Meltonia Luxury Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Meltonia Luxury Suites
Kindaruma Road | Near the Yaya Mall and Centre, Nairobi 00621, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Normal, Illinois
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay while in Nairobi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Our group of 14 stayed at the Meltonia Luxury Suites for one night prior to a safari departure and one night on the return in September 2012. The staff does an amazing job of making you feel welcome and and meeting your needs. The rooms (actually apartments) are large, well appointed and absolutely spotless. Our drivers were not familiar with the accommodations so it was a bit of a hunt to find the Meltonia, but it was totally worth it. There are no lifts, so for those folks staying at the highest floors you need to climb some stairs, but again the staff does all it can to carry bags and provide for your needs. The Meltonia is located in a secure and quiet neighborhood, making a good night's rest possible because there are no sound interruptions from traffic, etc. Breakfast is included; it is basic and good. The kitchen was very accommodating to prepare meals for us on arrival; service was slow but the food was well prepared. I cannot say enough about how helpful Peggy and her staff were to make our stay an excellent experience. I will definitely recommend the Meltonia to any friends I have traveling to Nairobi.

Room Tip: If you're a bit older or have a problem handling stairs, ask in advance for a room on a lower le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    22
    10
    5
    1
See reviews for
9
20
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I stayed at the Meltonia twice in September 2012 and wow!....what a fantastic place to stay right in the centre of Nairobi. Very beautiful interior decor, with the double studio providing a very relaxing home-away-from-home experice. The staff are so corteous, friendly and ever ready to help with excellent service at the reception. Peggy is such a darling and a fantastic hostess.
I will definitely be back in Meltonia and will recommend it for anyone looking for a great place and value for money in Nairobi

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trivandrum
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

It was a good stay at Meltonia between September 2nd and 25th 2012. I need to thank:

Peggy: For helping me extend the stay without any hassles and seamless. For urgent calling outside she helped me with her cell phones which was very insturmental.
The Chef: He helped me with the Indian Cuisine whenever I required it and was very polite and good mannered.
Moses and his friends: They helped with the required access to internet and other bills.
Room Care Takers: They helped me feel I am at home with essential arrangments.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, especially B1 Apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramelton, Ireland
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I stayed in Meltonia Luxury Suites after 2 weeks camping. It was fantastic luxury. Spotlessly clean and fantastic to be able to have a hot shower - as good, if not better, than any comparable European accommodation. Peggy and Moses were fantastic hosts The accommodation is appartments, but this even adds to its attraction.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge MA
Top Contributor
240 reviews 240 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

These apartments have everything. Kitchen, washing machine, deluxe bedroom, private wifi router, ample sitting room with cable TV. The staff is friendly and was great about directing us to the local supermarket. There are a few restaurants on the street, but otherwise the location is a little bit distant from the city center (thus a slightly lower rating here).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

Staying here for 3 nights after out safari adventures. The apartmenti is huge and completely self contained. It is beautifully furnished and has excellent security within the apartment and the surrounding grounds. The washing machine was so handy for washing all of our dust covered safari gear. The food in the resturant is a bit ordinary but the apartment is equipped with all you need to cook or there are plenty of good resturants a short taxi ride away. Speaking of taxis, there is a resident taxi driver who will take you anywhere you need to go for a reasonable price. Ya ya shopping center is a short walk away. It is perfectly safe during the day but definately not at night. It is Nairobi after all.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed one night at Meltonia before heading off for safari. The apartment was clean, comfortable and nicely furnished. At dinner though, the drinks were not listed on the menu but we ordered two beers each to celebrate our first night in Africa. However, when the bill came we were charged about 10 dollars for each beer! (40 dollars in total) Later we found out this was quadruple the price of a bottle compared to other hotels! I guess it was our fault for not asking the price beforehand, we just naively assumed we'd be charged a fair price after reading good reviews about the hotel. Moral of the story - always ask the price before you order! Breakfast was also a bit chaotic as the staff didn't turn up for work in the morning but Peggy (the manager) arranged for a taxi to take us to a 24/7 cafe and paid for our meal. Overall, our stay was nice but the beers left a sour taste in our mouths...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Meltonia Luxury Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meltonia Luxury Suites

Address: Kindaruma Road | Near the Yaya Mall and Centre, Nairobi 00621, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meltonia Luxury Suites is one of the most desirable apartment suites to be in Nairobi. Combining exquisitely refurbished interiors and a fantastic location, this stunning studio and one bedroom flat apartment offers high-quality fixtures. Located in a prime location, near the Yaya Centre and Mall on Kindaruma Road- Nairobi, Meltonia will offer you an atmosphere of tranquility. The trendy rooms are very inviting and secure with their own security intercom phones and panic buttons. Meltonia Luxury Suites has everything you may need for you to feel right at home. An exceptional 3rd floor apartment found within this sought after 24 hour master development boasting a high specification interior and modern features, located on this quiet residential street. Comprising a swimming pool, mini bar and restaurant with Lounge, separate fully fitted kitchen, master bedroom with en-suite shower room and a beautiful balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Jovago.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Meltonia Luxury Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meltonia Luxury Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.