We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'm not sure why everyone gets so excited about this place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The River Cafe

The River Cafe
Limuru Road, 1/2 km after Village Market | Inside Karura Forest, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
254725969891
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #103 of 384 Restaurants in Nairobi
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Cafe, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: International cuisine, French, American and Belgian influence!
Bukavu, Democratic Republic of the Congo
Level Contributor
95 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“I'm not sure why everyone gets so excited about this place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

The portions are small and over-priced and the location feels like halfway to Uganda. True it is nice to sit outside and you can multi-task with the plant nursery. Weekends are packed though so go with lots of time to spare (and a willingness to run into half the people you know in Nairobi).

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
96 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great place for Brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

I take the family to have breakfast in that nice restaurant. The place is very romantic with beautiful scenery. English breakfast there is second to none and other type of breakfast is good too. Service is very good and the staff is friendly. aquarium is interesting for the kids but the kids activities could be better and the slides could be renovated to avoid the kids being injured by popping nails.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mansi66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
Level Contributor
70 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Service & Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

I have been eating here on a consistent basis for the past seven to eight years now. My wife and I especially love the elegant scenery. We order our usual eggs for breakfast accompanied with chips and two pots of mixed tea.

The waitresses do not disappoint and deliver our oders quite promptly. The chips are arguably one of the best i have ever tried. Pancakes are good too as is the three cheese omelette,
There is also a nice section before you enter the restaurant for the children to play.

I am rather surprised at some of the negative comments, it is perhaps because i go when its not busy, but whatever the case, we really enjoy it and the range of coffee's are great too..

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank zahid m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lousy service ”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

Went for Sunday lunch-was very disappointed. The food took 45 minutes and was served cold. Had to send it back. Waiters couldn't be bothered to tell us about the delay despite us asking and never brought the additional bread we asked for. Complained to the manager who said they only have a few burners in the kitchen and customers should be aware that food can take up to an hour to be served on weekends! Not worth the money!

Helpful?
1 Thank Nairobian1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
111 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Lovely outdoor setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We enjoyed Sunday brunch in the lovely luscious outdoor setting. Quiet and serene setting in a very busy city. Lots of options for vegetarian choices. Portions not large but food all very very tasty and fresh.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The River Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The River Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing