We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'm not sure why everyone gets so excited about this place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The River Cafe

The River Cafe
Limuru Road, 1/2 km after Village Market | Gigiri, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
725-969-891
Improve this listing
Ranked #123 of 338 Restaurants in Nairobi
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: American, Coffee Shop, Coffee Shop, International
Dining options: Coffee & Tea, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Coffee & Tea, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Reservations
Bukavu, Democratic Republic of the Congo
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“I'm not sure why everyone gets so excited about this place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

The portions are small and over-priced and the location feels like halfway to Uganda. True it is nice to sit outside and you can multi-task with the plant nursery. Weekends are packed though so go with lots of time to spare (and a willingness to run into half the people you know in Nairobi).

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    27
    8
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great place for Brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

I take the family to have breakfast in that nice restaurant. The place is very romantic with beautiful scenery. English breakfast there is second to none and other type of breakfast is good too. Service is very good and the staff is friendly. aquarium is interesting for the kids but the kids activities could be better and the slides could be renovated to avoid the kids being injured by popping nails.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great Service & Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

I have been eating here on a consistent basis for the past seven to eight years now. My wife and I especially love the elegant scenery. We order our usual eggs for breakfast accompanied with chips and two pots of mixed tea.

The waitresses do not disappoint and deliver our oders quite promptly. The chips are arguably one of the best i have ever tried. Pancakes are good too as is the three cheese omelette,
There is also a nice section before you enter the restaurant for the children to play.

I am rather surprised at some of the negative comments, it is perhaps because i go when its not busy, but whatever the case, we really enjoy it and the range of coffee's are great too..

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lousy service ”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Went for Sunday lunch-was very disappointed. The food took 45 minutes and was served cold. Had to send it back. Waiters couldn't be bothered to tell us about the delay despite us asking and never brought the additional bread we asked for. Complained to the manager who said they only have a few burners in the kitchen and customers should be aware that food can take up to an hour to be served on weekends! Not worth the money!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Lovely outdoor setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We enjoyed Sunday brunch in the lovely luscious outdoor setting. Quiet and serene setting in a very busy city. Lots of options for vegetarian choices. Portions not large but food all very very tasty and fresh.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The River Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The River Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The River Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.