We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for Brunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The River Cafe

The River Cafe
Limuru Road, 1/2 km after Village Market | Gigiri, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
725-969-891
Improve this listing
Ranked #124 of 340 Restaurants in Nairobi
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: American, Coffee Shop, Coffee Shop, International
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Coffee & Tea, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Coffee & Tea, Reservations
Cairo, Egypt
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great place for Brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

I take the family to have breakfast in that nice restaurant. The place is very romantic with beautiful scenery. English breakfast there is second to none and other type of breakfast is good too. Service is very good and the staff is friendly. aquarium is interesting for the kids but the kids activities could be better and the slides could be renovated to avoid the kids being injured by popping nails.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    27
    8
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
nairobi
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great Service & Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

I have been eating here on a consistent basis for the past seven to eight years now. My wife and I especially love the elegant scenery. We order our usual eggs for breakfast accompanied with chips and two pots of mixed tea.

The waitresses do not disappoint and deliver our oders quite promptly. The chips are arguably one of the best i have ever tried. Pancakes are good too as is the three cheese omelette,
There is also a nice section before you enter the restaurant for the children to play.

I am rather surprised at some of the negative comments, it is perhaps because i go when its not busy, but whatever the case, we really enjoy it and the range of coffee's are great too..

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lousy service ”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Went for Sunday lunch-was very disappointed. The food took 45 minutes and was served cold. Had to send it back. Waiters couldn't be bothered to tell us about the delay despite us asking and never brought the additional bread we asked for. Complained to the manager who said they only have a few burners in the kitchen and customers should be aware that food can take up to an hour to be served on weekends! Not worth the money!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Lovely outdoor setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We enjoyed Sunday brunch in the lovely luscious outdoor setting. Quiet and serene setting in a very busy city. Lots of options for vegetarian choices. Portions not large but food all very very tasty and fresh.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Rude management”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Came to River Cafe for brunch on Sunday with a group of friends. Everything was great...food (starters), service and ambience but it started to rain and our table was exposed so we politely asked if we could join the manager who was sitting on a bigger table with couches by herself, and she very rudely just said no, implying we should just leave instead. So we did, without ordering mains since she killed our appetites. Also, not the first run in we have had with this manager, who previously kicked us out very rudely on another occasion when we were having drinks.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWK2, Owner at The River Cafe, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Prina,

Thank you for your e-mail. We apologise that you felt poorly about your experience at the Cafe on Sunday. I have spoken to the manager and as I believed, the intention was not to offend you. She was unwell and was only on duty in an effort to ensure her station was covered as her replacement is on leave, and in view of the fact that your group was smoking, asked if she could move your table instead. This was evidently not the preferred option for you, and we are sorry that you felt the solution offered was unhelpful.

With regard to your last experience also involving the manager, you may be aware that our hours of operation are dictated quite strictly by our environment. We are in a particular environment and during our seven years here, have made every effort to adhere to the restriction that we must close the restaurant at 6 p.m. As long as we are in the current location, we will always request our clients leave by 6.30 and staff sometimes get anxious when clients linger as there are repercussions to our not being empty by that time. Once again, what may have come across as rude was simply an effort to enforce the laid-down rules which enable us continue to operate in harmony with our neighbours, and we apologise if you felt offended by it.

We hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you, if not here, in our next location where we will have more flexibility with our hours of operation and indeed, weatherproofing of all seating areas.

Yours sincerely,

Sophie Kinyua
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The River Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The River Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The River Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.