We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Sunday brunch option” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The River Cafe

The River Cafe
Limuru Road, 1/2 km after Village Market | Gigiri, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
725-969-891
Update restaurant details
Ranked #100 of 301 restaurants in Nairobi
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: American, Coffee Shop, International, Café
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good Sunday brunch option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This restaurant has a lovely setting, and the food is good - excellent breakfast options, and a varied lunch menu too - good options for vegetarians. Coffee and tea both good. Can be very busy, so make sure to book. Lovely nursery to buy plants, and there's a spa there as well.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

70% Recommend
    9
    19
    4
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
“Over rated!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

My second time there as I love the location, and a lovely way to spend a sunday afternoon with family or friends. Slow service was fine as we were happy to have relaxing afternoon. The food was ordered with much thought, after the dissapointed from the 1st visit.
The fish in foil was superb. Herb crusted fish!! no crust just pan fried fish very dry. Mixed bean quesadilla, was tinned kidney beans, baked beans with raw carrots & courgettes!! No cheese or seasoning. Sour cream was a bowl of single cream! Salsa & gaucamole not bad ( Ksh 900.) Get real!!!! We did not complain, but just decided that will be our last time we come there.
Rita

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“It must have been a very off day”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Based on positive reviews from other reviewers as well as prior experience of two expat friends I went with, it must have been a very off day, It was Sunday brunch time and very busy but that is hardly a valid excuse for how poorly we were treated. Our so-called waiter took a long time to take our orders and after 45 minutes, still no food (I had even forgotten whether we had ordered) and more worrisome, no update from him on where it was. We finally asked several people to enquire and some 15 minutes later, our orders came. Based on what we got, I can only imagine that our order had been lost or forgotten and that something was quickly put together. The stuffing of my friend's pasta was frozen so she sent it back. I had ordered a Thai stir-fry with veggies and chick peas but it was nothing of the sort: it was white rice with a separate bowl of some curry, sans chick peas. I had to make sure this is what I ordered and asked about the chick peas. He suggested to take the plate back but I did not want to risk another delay so asked that he bring back the chick peas from the kitchen. He seemed to have forgotten this request and when we asked him 10 minutes later, he told me they were out of chick peas. My other friend's omelet was fine. Coffee is of course excellent as is the setting. But the bottom line is that we were there for over 2.5 hours and were abandoned for most of that and 2/3 of us did not eat well. My friends complained vehemently to the acting manager and will take it up with the owners who were not there. Were offered coffee but at that point, we just wanted to leave. I was thankful for the time there to enjoy my friends' company but we could have taken our business elsewhere. If I come back to Nairobi, I do not think I would make any effort to return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWK2, Owner at The River Cafe, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Jaqueline,

Thank you for your thorough and honest review of your experience on Sunday. We are extremely concerned that your experience on Sunday was so bad, particularly in view of the fact that our Sundays are in fact always very busy so in general, a longer wait time is normal simply because we have a very small kitchen. It is something that we try not to affect our service but as with any business, we are not always perfect. However, that does not excuse poor service and particularly when we are not there, as was the case on Sunday, we expect are well-versed staff to handle delays and poor quality promptly and professionally. As you quite rightly state, there is no excuse for poor treatment, and we cannot apologize enough except to ask that you please give us another chance to provide better service and quality when you next visit. The Thai Chickpea Curry should be just that - I am astonished that you were served it without the chickpeas, and if they had run out, your waiter should have informed you immediately the order was placed. Please be assured that we will investigate this incident with a view to avoiding this happening again to anyone, and sincerely hope you will accept our apology and visit us again in order that we may make up for the poor experience.

Yours sincerely,

Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“different”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

their food is good... service is great..and ambiance is lovely... its got that cottagy feel. the coffees are yummy.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi Area, Kenya
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Piece of nature in the city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Officially and addict as i have had lunch three times at River cafe, this month. A perfect setting that is very serene. Gives you the feeling of close to nature. The garden at the entrance is well kept and the artwork is arranged differently every time i have been there. Also have very beautiful paintings inside the cafe.
The menu offers quite a variety of meals so its perfect for foodies. watch-out for the day's special at the entrance. this includes meals and cocktails.
The playground area will keep young ones entertained while you eat and catch up with friends.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The River Cafe also viewed

 
Nairobi, Kenya
Nairobi, Kenya
 

Been to The River Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The River Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.