We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great shopping but cafe is a real let down” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Spinners Web Kenya

Spinners Web Kenya
Getathuru Gardens, off Peponi Road | Spring Valley, Nairobi, Kenya
254-020-2072629
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #83 of 184 Shopping in Nairobi
Attraction details
Lake District, England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Great shopping but cafe is a real let down”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

We come here regularly to buy gifts to take back to UK. Nice environment with no hassle from sellers. Everything priced so no need to barter. We would come here more often and use the cafe (as would many of our friends) but the service is terrible. Very slow and unwelcoming. If i ran the store i would sort this out as it would lead to a significant increase in visitors. Real shame.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    9
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
58 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Great choice, prices for everyone, but moft of the items are a bit costly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

The place is not a central one, but it is very spacious, has a good parking and a small cafe (coffee not bad at all, there is pizza, not much of a food choice) and a garden. It is quiet and relaxing inside, photography not allowed, though. Staff are very nice and friendly, but sometimes payment process can get a bit slow, especially if there are two customers with full bags.
Offer is really great and most of the things are not just low quality ones that you can get on outdoor markets (but some are the same one you can probably get cheaper on some of those markets). There are many typically African souvenirs, exotic and rare to find. Many of the items available are just for decoration and will have no practical purpose, some are just silly, childish or pretentious, and some have practical value. Recommendation - really nice scarves. Downside - high prices.
You will probably be required to leave your bad at the entrance (there is a guard).
At the moment they also have some old, second hand books for 100KES.
All in all, nice experience. Almost surely one might find gifts for everyone there.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diriamba, Nicaragua
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good selection of quality product”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We didn't purchase much since we have wine taste on beer budget. However, the selection and quality were excellent. Not the stuff you would buy on the roadside stands.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petra - Wadi Musa, Jordan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Over priced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I had read reviews about this shop and was interested to check out the shop. They have a lot of products, good variety however they are over priced. You can get better prices at the Giraffe Centre Gift Shop or the Intercontinental Hotel Gift Shop, the quality is at par or better. Very nice and clean shop.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Emlyn
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Soooo posh.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

This place is like the Mayfair part of London . Comparing to Nairobi markets. Its cool quiet and relaxing. The coffee shop is great, I had the best samosa ever. My husband had the carrot cake (lovely)
Yes it's pricey, but hey you don't get hassled and the place is a heavenly retreat for shoppers easy to find.
I would tell everyone go go go.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Spinners Web Kenya, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our shop and for comparing it to the famous Mayfair of London!

We work hard to make Spinner's Web a safe, welcoming and relaxing atmosphere for shopping at your leisure. I am so pleased to read that you found it to be so and enjoyed our coffee shop as well.

As you note, this is not a market and prices are fair for the high quality products offered. Many of these will not be found elsewhere. We also support many co-operative groups so the money is definately going to a good cause.

We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Kenya.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spinners Web Kenya also viewed

 
 

Been to Spinners Web Kenya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spinners Web Kenya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.