We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicely Done Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lord Erroll

The Lord Erroll
89 Ruaka Road | Runda Estate, Nairobi, Kenya
254 20 7122433
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #168 of 343 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nicely Done Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

This facility is done well and ideal for business.
And the service is real wonderful per my experience
Recommended

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    6
    6
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Mediocre and expensive food; unrealized potential”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

This restaurant is truly bad, but like my husband likes to say, "at least it's expensive!" The food was really mediocre, not to say bad, and the service was not much better. (Who serves pasta with vanilla sauce?! I made the mistake of ordering it because the waitress assured me that the recipe was in a white sauce that had no actual vanilla in it -it's just the color! she said with a smile- and it turned out to be similar to a vanilla dessert). I'd say go for a drink if you're curious, but not for dinner. I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone. A real shame, since the property is actually quite nice.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very nice and good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Is very nice and good restaurant, very good food and nice staff. You really have from where to choose.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Mediocre Restaurant that remains famous only by its history”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

This restaurant is only known because of its history. Yes, this is the place where Lord Erroll lived before he was killed. There's a movie about it - White Mischief - go see it, it's great!

The restaurant is not. Although the menu attempts to be European, it's more 1950's US country club. Everything is ok - nothing is very good. Service is snooty but slow and awkward. Wines are drab. However, it is fully priced.

IF you like the movie, go see the house - maybe for a quick lunch. If not, skip it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
“Poor”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

I had dinner with a friend last night. I think the place is overrated. The food was stodgy and overpriced. I've had better food in Nairobi at places that don;t think as much of themselves. Prosciutto and melon starter fine though melon tasted old. German special really poor (sausage, shoulder in a huge portion and the meat was dry and didn't taste nice, really awful hard little potatoes). The grounds are lovely even in the dark. The service was gruff, with rough manners though not unfriendly. Think you pay a premium here because it is near the UN and has expat bling, but I am sorry to say it was a great disappointment.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lord Erroll also viewed

 
Nairobi, Kenya
 

Been to The Lord Erroll? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lord Erroll, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.