We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Somber Green Space” 3 of 5 stars
Review of American Embassy Memorial Garden

American Embassy Memorial Garden
Moi Ave | Mageso Chember, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
254720650869
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 43 Attractions in Nairobi
Type: Gardens
Attraction Details
Rubicon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Somber Green Space”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Located in the city center, this well kept park acts as a somber reminder of the bombing victims from the American Embassy in Kenya. Having visited the Embassy on several occasions before this tragic event, we felt it important to pay our respects. On the Sunday afternoon we visited, the park was full of Kenyans having lunch and soda's. We had to pay a fee and go through security to enter. As the only persons of European ethnicity we were eyed considerably but not bothered. Our Kenyan driver, who accompanied us inside was nervous, as this is a high crime area. Visit only if you have a group of four or more, have a compelling reason to do so in the first place and don't spend any more time than needed. Suggest 15 minutes maximum.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    12
    9
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sawbridgeworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Lovely...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Very nice... I didn't think there would be any gardens in Nairobi being that it s a city but this is lovely, well kept green area. Not sure how safe as Nairobi I think isn't a very safe city but otherwise a nice place. On,y worth a visit if you are passing,

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
“Certainly worth a visit if you're in downtown Nairobi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

A small, green park on the site of the former US embassy. A black marble memorial lists the names of the victims of the bombing (apparently almost all Kenyans) and a number of sculptures and small monuments remind the visitor of the fate of the embassy. This is a cool, quiet spot in the centre of the city, a place for contemplation and reflection on past events, but also an ideal location to stop off for a rest in the shade of the many trees and to have a drink and sandwich (on sale from a stall) or to use the bathroom.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Underwhelming, but a quiet spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This will not blow you away, but it is a nice tribute to the lives lost in the embassy bombing and a nice, quiet spot to take a break when walking around downtown Nairobi.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“If you are American, you should visit this Memorial”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

If you are American, I suggest you visit this Memorial Garden. It is a short walk, ending at the small photo museum. If you have mobility problems, you will still probably not have trouble.

Inside the gate, you wind through a path which has an assortment of wreckage from the time the building was blown up by terrorists in 1998. Part of the vehicle which housed the bomb is in a sculpture at the end.

Inside the photo museum are pictures which I certainly never saw before going there. Viewing them really brings home the tragedy of that horrific act.

Many Kenyans remember that day too. The bombing was planned on one of the busiest corners, and at one of the busiest times of the day. One of my friends lost hearing in one ear for 3 weeks after the blast.

Sometimes it seems a little strange that the side of the memorial park is used for public functions, but there is usually a meeting or memorial of some kind going on during the day. You can also bring a picnic and sit on the grass.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed American Embassy Memorial Garden also viewed

 

Been to American Embassy Memorial Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage American Embassy Memorial Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.