We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of American Embassy Memorial Garden

American Embassy Memorial Garden
Moi Ave | Mageso Chember, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
254720650869
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 43 attractions in Nairobi
Type: Gardens
Attraction Details
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Sad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Having lost people I've known here during the bomb blast, I would say it is a bit of a sad experience to be here, but a memorable experience all the same.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    12
    9
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Memorial”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Its a sad place due to what it signifies. The memorial itself is touching. However the part of Nairobi in which it sits is terrible. If you are going to visit watch yourself and your wallet!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuttgart
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
63 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Somber monument”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

The monument was great. After hearing about Kenyan corruption from a lot of locals we were shocked that we were shook down here of all places. The normal fee is about 100KES but we were forced out of 350KES each because we were late arriving. I guess I should just be thankful we were allowed in but the bribe left a bad taste.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
1,095 reviews 1,095 reviews
737 attraction reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
680 helpful votes 680 helpful votes
“Peaceful little garden”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

The American Embassy Memorial Garden is a nice little garden, providing an oasis or relative calm in amongst chaotic Nairobi. There was an event on at the gardens when I visited, so while the entry fee was waived, the memorials inside the gardens were obscured by seats and awnings. Still, the gardens were a nice little spot and are worth a visit if you are nearby.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“'A mixed Experience!'”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

The moment I entered this place,I received a warm welcome from the friendly security staff,who did some thorough security checks.The place looks attractive even though when I looked at the wall that has the names of those victims who perished during the 1998 bombing,it created a sombre mood.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed American Embassy Memorial Garden also viewed

 

Been to American Embassy Memorial Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage American Embassy Memorial Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added American Embassy Memorial Garden to your Saves list