We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of American Embassy Memorial Garden

American Embassy Memorial Garden
Moi Ave | Mageso Chember, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
254720650869
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 86 things to do in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Having lost people I've known here during the bomb blast, I would say it is a bit of a sad experience to be here, but a memorable experience all the same.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    17
    12
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Memorial”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Its a sad place due to what it signifies. The memorial itself is touching. However the part of Nairobi in which it sits is terrible. If you are going to visit watch yourself and your wallet!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuttgart
Level Contributor
128 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Somber monument”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

The monument was great. After hearing about Kenyan corruption from a lot of locals we were shocked that we were shook down here of all places. The normal fee is about 100KES but we were forced out of 350KES each because we were late arriving. I guess I should just be thankful we were allowed in but the bribe left a bad taste.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
1,090 reviews
737 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 757 helpful votes
“Peaceful little garden”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

The American Embassy Memorial Garden is a nice little garden, providing an oasis or relative calm in amongst chaotic Nairobi. There was an event on at the gardens when I visited, so while the entry fee was waived, the memorials inside the gardens were obscured by seats and awnings. Still, the gardens were a nice little spot and are worth a visit if you are nearby.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“'A mixed Experience!'”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

The moment I entered this place,I received a warm welcome from the friendly security staff,who did some thorough security checks.The place looks attractive even though when I looked at the wall that has the names of those victims who perished during the 1998 bombing,it created a sombre mood.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed American Embassy Memorial Garden also viewed

 

Been to American Embassy Memorial Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage American Embassy Memorial Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.