We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection !!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lion Trails Safaris - Day Tours

Lion Trails Safaris - Day Tours
Embakasi along Outer Ring Road, Fedha Estate | Patron Business Center, 1st Floor, Hse no. 19, Nairobi, Kenya
+254 720 710451
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A small vibrant Tour Company in Kenya, owned and operated by local Kenyans. Services include: Short Excursions/Short Safaris/Road & Flying Safaris (Both group & private)/Beach Holidays/Nairobi accommodation/Local flight reservations/Airport Transfers/Gorilla Safaris in Rwanda. Note: We always work hard to better our services and always look for the most effective and affordable solutions to our clients needs. Whatever you want, we will put you on the right track!
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Perfection !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

We chose lion trail safaris because of the comments on trip advisor. We were hoping for a good experience....this far exceeded our expectations.
We e mailed Bernard, the owner, with a suggested eleven day itinary. He was always prompt with his responses and his advice re a route and accommodation was spot on.
The booking process was painless and any questions we had prior to arriving were answered fully.
We were met at the airport by Martin, our driver and guide for eleven days. He was the most amazing guide. He was knowledgeable, patient, had an extensive knowledge of the animals, culture and countryside.
We have been on a number of safaris around the world but this exceeded them all. We saw amazing wildlife and learnt many facts.
Martin was very considerate and we feel lucky to have met him. So much so we are returning next year for the wildebeest migration. I cannot recommend this company and these people highly enough.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    2
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
“Excellent Day Safari”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

We had a day to spend at the Nairobi National Park and a friend had recommended Lion Trails Safaris. We got in touch with them at the last minute via email and their response was extremely prompt and helpful. We arranged a day trip to the park. Our guide, Oliver, was friendly and a very good guide with a keen eye, even coming to our rescue when a baboon tried to steal our lunch (he succeed in stealing one lunch box!). Excellent day and highly recommend Lion Trails!

Visited February 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very happy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2015

There were 4 of us from France.
We went on a 3-Day Maasai Mara Flying Safari with a landcruiser, staying at Mara Serena Lodge.
Everything was perfect.
Our guide (Jackson) was super nice and knowledgeable.
I highly recommend Lion Trails Safaris.

Visited February 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edison, NJ
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great Company with Amazing People”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015

Following significant research and contact with multiple organizations, we decided to use Lion Trails Safari to facilitate a lifelong dream of doing an African safari. Bernard was very accommodating and answered many questions as we tailored several components of the safari to meet our travel/time needs. We were paired with a driver and a cook, Martin and Francis respectively. Martin was a fantastic guide throughout the various parks including Tsavo West, Amboseli, Lake Nakuru, Masai Mara and Hells Gate. Unlike other guides we saw, Martin was focused on the landscape and reading clues to find predator cats instead of constantly talking on the radio. It appears he can communicate with animals since we did not miss anything on our list of must-see fauna. In addition, Martin will teach you as much about the people, culture and history of Kenya that you wish to learn. Francis is a great cook with great skills in keeping everyone delightfully full. The rotating menu contained multi-course meals at each sitting and he was successful at catering to the vegetarian in our group without issue. Never were we hungry. Even the times we took boxed lunches for full-day safaris, the food content and quality was perfectly balanced. Lodging at Ngulia Bandas (now Rhino Valley Lodge) and Mara Springs Camp was amazing. WCK Nakuru is right in the park and great in space and comfort, however it was without water due to a buffalo incident at the time of our stay. The lodging at Kimana Camp Amboseli was barely acceptable and in need of serious updating, but with Kilimanjaro as the natural backdrop one can attempt to look past the deficiencies.

Of course the highlight of our trip was seeing the animals, which was absolutely amazing. However the success of our trip would not have been possible without the skills and professionalism of those at Lion Trails. You shoudn’t have any doubt about traveling with them. Yes, wiring the money is always uncomfortable but everything went smoothly and there no issues associated with this. The parks appeared to be low in tourists, probably due to general travel warnings. However, the parks and surrounding villages are safe and people friendly. We did not spend time in the cities as this was not our priority. But if you are looking to fulfill a Kenyan safari dream trip, you have no need to hesitate.

Visited January 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“AMAZING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2015

We are beyond thrilled with Lion Trails. They made everything getting around Kenya easy, which was a big concern traveling to an unknown area. Bernard answered all our questions and set up a perfect itinerary for our trip. We were beyond lucky to have the team of Martin and Francis as our guide and
cook. Martin has an abundance amount of knowledge to share regarding animals, behavior, people and the country. He knew where to look to find the Big 5 plus countless other beautiful animals. Francis cooked us wonderful meals everyday and catered to my vegetarian diet perfectly! He also had wonderful stories and history to
share while trying to teach us Swahili. We weren't very good at it, but he was happy to help. We loved every minute we spent with them! The lodging was better then we expected also. Most camp sites were well kept and clean. The staff was always friendly and helpful. We chose the mini van with pop up roof & never had an issue with viewing any of the animals
Or beautiful scenery. Martin is an excellent driver, some of those roads can be rough. Overall, a truly beautiful & unforgettable experience. We ALWAYS felt safe and that we really experienced a great deal in a short
time! Lion Trails did a wonderful and professional job. I highly recommend them for your Kenya adventure! You won't be disappointed!

Visited January 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lion Trails Safaris - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lion Trails Safaris - Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.