We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lion Trails Safaris - Day Tours

Lion Trails Safaris - Day Tours
Embakasi along Outer Ring Road, Fedha Estate | Patron Business Center, 1st Floor, Hse no. 19, Nairobi, Kenya
+254 720 710451
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 126 Activities in Nairobi
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A small vibrant Tour Company in Kenya, owned and operated by local Kenyans. Services include: Short Excursions/Short Safaris/Road & Flying Safaris (Both group & private)/Beach Holidays/Nairobi accommodation/Local flight reservations/Airport Transfers/Gorilla Safaris in Rwanda. Note: We always work hard to better our services and always look for the most effective and affordable solutions to our clients needs. Whatever you want, we will put you on the right track!
1 review
“AMAZING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2015 NEW via mobile

We are beyond thrilled with Lion Trails. They made everything getting around Kenya easy, which was a big concern traveling to an unknown area. Bernard answered all our questions and set up a perfect itinerary for our trip. We were beyond lucky to have the team of Martin and Francis as our guide and
cook. Martin has an abundance amount of knowledge to share regarding animals, behavior, people and the country. He knew where to look to find the Big 5 plus countless other beautiful animals. Francis cooked us wonderful meals everyday and catered to my vegetarian diet perfectly! He also had wonderful stories and history to
share while trying to teach us Swahili. We weren't very good at it, but he was happy to help. We loved every minute we spent with them! The lodging was better then we expected also. Most camp sites were well kept and clean. The staff was always friendly and helpful. We chose the mini van with pop up roof & never had an issue with viewing any of the animals
Or beautiful scenery. Martin is an excellent driver, some of those roads can be rough. Overall, a truly beautiful & unforgettable experience. We ALWAYS felt safe and that we really experienced a great deal in a short
time! Lion Trails did a wonderful and professional job. I highly recommend them for your Kenya adventure! You won't be disappointed!

Visited January 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    2
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Emirate of Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
“An unforgetable safari experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2015

My husband and I just returned from a trip to Kenya, where we went on a weeklong safari with Lion Trails. While there are hundreds of safari companies in Kenya, Lion Trails was a great choice, we absolutely loved it. Bernard, the owner, was great from the very beginning, before we even got on the plane to go to Kenya. He always responded to any concerns we had quickly and was very welcoming once we got to Nairobi. Our guide, Martin, was incredible. He seemed to have the answers to anything we asked. This was especially good because both, my husband and I, were safari virgins, and did not know too much about the animals or their habitat beforehand. Furthermore, Martin always seemed to know exactly where to go to find the animals in action. We saw all of the big 5, as well as cheetahs, giraffes, endangered zebras and countless other animals. However, the highlight of the trip was definitely when we came across a leopard that had killed a cheetah and had dragged it up in the tree. I honestly do not know how Martin managed to spot this from afar, because we had problems seeing it even when we were up-close. Both Martin & Bernard were very helpful to ensure that not only our safari went smoothly, but to have our entire trip in Kenya as amazing as it can be.
There were only two bad things about our trip. First, the ride to Masai Mara was very bumpy. So someone who might be sensitive to this might want to consider flying into Mara, considering that Martin told us that when we went the road was better than ever. And the second thing was that your sleep might depend on the weather. It was humid and hot during most of the nights when you go to places that are not high in altitude, which might make it hard for some to sleep.
And our one suggestion for what to bring to the trip would be mosquito repellant. It will be your best friend during the trip.

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A wow trip!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015

lion trails Safari has done a fantastic job in planning our safari trip to Kenya. From the very first mail to the last, we got prompt response from the tour manager Bernard and he was every time willing to accommodate any of our changing needs. He turned up at the airport to meet and greet us in Nairobi. The driver guide Martin also did not leave any stone unturned to make our safari a memorable trip of a lifetime. We saw over 30 lions in our 5 day trip along with 3 cheetahs and numerous amazing wildlife. At 1 point Martin turned the safari vehicle and penetrated deeper into the grasslands, there we figured a pride of 10 lions. He said he had a feeling that he would find something there. All in all it was an amazing trip, we were happy with the selection of lodges given by lion trails, and will at anytime recommend this safari company which is highly dedicated in providing customer service. thanks Bernard and Martin for all your efforts!!!

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“An unhappy experience......”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

We returned yesterday from an expensive 17 day birding tour which was arranged through Lion Trails based on personal recommendation from some of the people who have posted on here. Our guide was Ben Gitari, also recommended on here. Unfortunately, our experience was not a happy one as it did not provide the birding opportunities we had been promised nor is Ben a bird guide although he is promoted as one. What sort of birder is it who replies "How would I know?" when you ask him the name of a bird? He would not come out on bird walks organised with local guides and would not go out early to catch the birds at first light. He was more interested in his phones than birding, spending much of his time talking/texting, even at the wheel. He did show us most of the animals we wished to see but had an annoying habit of driving off while we were taking photos, trying to identify a bird or call out a bird. Otherwise, he was polite and could be quite informative and his English is excellent.

The local guides we used were outstanding.

Our accommodation was mostly fine to wonderful and we were happy with our cook, Francis, during the first week.

The transfer times on the itinerary were completely wrong: four and a half hours worked out at nine hours more than once and we spent far too much time travelling between lodges. Had we known this, we would have altered the itinerary.

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Excellent!!! An A++++ tours and travel company”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2014 via mobile

When I was looking for a safari package for a group of Spanish and Kenyan family, I went through reviews of various agencies on trip advisor and Lion Trail Safaris caught my eyes due to the excellent reviews it had and I decided to give them a shot. It was the best decision I made because from the initial communication to the actual safari itself every thing went perfect. Bernard was quite friendly, flexible and humble. We had never ending questions, changes etc and he was prompt in responding and accommodating the changes and last minute requests. We did a day nairobi excursion to the David shedrick elephant center, giraffe Centre and the Karen blixen. Our drivers and guides Francis, Pius and Martin were quite friendly and knowledgeable.

We are looking forward to using LTS again in the nearest future.

Muchas gracias!!!

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lion Trails Safaris - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lion Trails Safaris - Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.