We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Come to give back to the community by helping out at a school. not a tourist attraction - arrange a visit through a reputable or” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kibera

Kibera
Nairobi, Kenya
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 42 Attractions in Nairobi
Type: Neighborhoods
Attraction Details
Beijing, China
Top Contributor
553 reviews 553 reviews
251 attraction reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
231 helpful votes 231 helpful votes
“Come to give back to the community by helping out at a school. not a tourist attraction - arrange a visit through a reputable or”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

We visited here and Muthari (another slum) as part of the We the Change foundation which is focused on providing pre-K education to kids in need who would otherwise be wandering the streets before public education begins. The slum itself is not so different from Rocinhas or others in the world you may have seen (built a little differently since all geographically flat), but you're here to help out kids in need. After visiting one of the schools, you will walk away inspired by the tireless efforts of the dedicated teachers who are really making a difference (and the kids who are motivated, sweet, and friendly). This is not a visit you make for tourism, but for inspiration and to help out where a difference can be made.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    12
    3
    5
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
2 reviews
“POOR DRAINAGE”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

The drainage is not so well done,to start with its not there,its a health hazard especially when it rains you do not wanna visit this place and the area is overpopulated...I hope the government shud take this matter up especially the relevant ministries.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Informal and really to be forgotten as soon as possible.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

As a slum, it should be rated ***** five stars.
It is one of thabiggest in Africa and may be in the world.
It is an unforgettable experience.
But when you undestand that it is the placewhere lovable Kenyans have to come and rest in after a heavy working day, you would cry.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alesund, Norway
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“You really should visit this while in Nairobi...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I was in Nairobi together with a big group, and we spent one day in the slums of Kibera. We visited a school driven by the Children of Kibera foundation and was guided through parts of the slum with a guide. As a foreigner, you should never walk in the slum without a local guide, as this can be very dangerous. Listen to your guide, and be discreet when taking pictures.

Even though a walk in the slum isn't a pleasant experience, I think every tourist coming from a rich country should visit the slum. It gives you a new perspective of life, and even though you might forget some of it when you go home, it will have taught you something. While you are in the slum, I will highly recommend a visit to the Children of Kibera school - it's an amazing project that gives children of poor families an opportunity to go to school, and the best students can even attend college in the USA. Coming from the 2nd largest slum in Africa, that is an amazing opportunity for the children there. Also, by visiting, you will highlight the children's day and learn how a school in the slum looks like.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Flying toilets.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I remember quite well it was my birthday and i had gone to celebrate it with my friends who manage a children's home in Kibera. I could not avoid looking at the flying toilets which nearly hit me as i was passing a deserted alley.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kibera also viewed

 

Been to Kibera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kibera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.