We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor sanitation” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Kibera

Kibera
Nairobi, Kenya
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 42 Attractions in Nairobi
Type: Neighborhoods
Attraction Details
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“poor sanitation”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

the place is poorly sanitated,the ironsheet house giving it a bad look,exposing how bad the place can be.its too unsafe to be there because of insecurity.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    12
    3
    5
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Really Sad”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

It is really sad to see people living in these conditions. It is not safe in Kibera, it is filthy and dirty. If you ever think you have things bad, go visit Kibera

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A world of its own”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Although it has been mostly ignored by kenyan government and service providers, Kibera has a life of its own. It bustles with creativity borne of a population that refuses to play victim and has its own neighbourhood pride. It's own micro breweries, cinemas, shops, products, architecture. I salute Kibera!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, ny
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Kibera tour with Octopizzo (local DJ)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

I wrote a review of the tour under a different heading. I was so impressed with the enthusiasm of this amazing young man who is doing so much for his community. Once more I am going to try to post photos taken during our walking tour. For some reason, when I tried to post them previously, they were not approved by Trip Advisor. I am trying again because although I read the guidelines, I did not understand how my photos did not meet them.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Slum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

You should be know that every country has their different face , there is the so-called slums, Kibera is real in Kenya on the other face, it is true, even if it's not far away you can see tall buildings, this is a dangerous place, but you see a lot of children with their body language to show you their friendly, happy to take a picture with you, how can you believe this place is a dangerous place, get mugged? If you like taking pictures, please do not miss this, although there is no beautiful scenery, but this is life.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kibera also viewed

 

Been to Kibera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kibera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.