We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like the sandwiches” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Prime Cuts Butchery and Bistro

Prime Cuts Butchery and Bistro
Village Market, Nairobi, Kenya
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #275 of 341 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
Dining options: Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Like the sandwiches”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

I really like the sandwiches there. They used to do a really nice chilly garlicky sauce which for some reason they have stopped. One of the better choices at the Village Market food court.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    5
    2
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sittwe, Myanmar
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“so so...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

ordered t bone medium, the meat was tough. The wine was ok. the ambiance was probably the best thing

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nothing is good and fresh at Prime Cut”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I cannot understand why some people are saying one can buy fresh meat in Prime Cut... unless we define what 'fresh and good' really means... I have bought chicken tighs twice and when I opened the package at home, the whole kitchen smelled rote chicken! Also, I bought what they called 'fillet standard' and it had to be cooked 1 hour in a pressure pan and it was still so hard to eat was just thrown in the bin!. The Salmao are chopped, packed and frozen and sold with no indication of valid date or origin on its packing. The fish (tilapia and red snapper) are frozen and nobody knows how fresh they are. When I asked to have the tilapia cut into large pieces, the attendant place it and chopped it on the scale without using anything to protect the scale and did not clean it afterwards ... Talking to a friend, she indicated the same happened to her in relation to the chicken... so, we stopped shopping there and started shopping at Nakumake, where we have found real fresh chicken and more honest staff....

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusaka, Zambia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“OK but nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

The service and quality are OK without being anything great. The steak was fine but the sides looked and tasted as if they had been under the warmer for awhile. The budget choice for a steak at the Village market.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Excellent Butchery (service could be better) and Average Bistro”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I believe Prime Cuts has the best quality meat in Nairobi, along with a great selection of cheese and seafood. They are however not the most helpful, if its not "on the shelf" you have to convince them to give you the cut of meat you want, they won't take orders for something they don't stock (I asked for rabbit for example), they don't go the extra mile to help you, a bit complacent.

Their Bistro as one would expect serves great meat, I recently had fillet steak and chips, but the chips were stone cold, I noticed that they cook a batch at a time, so no wonder they are cold when the last person for that particular batch comes along.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prime Cuts Butchery and Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Prime Cuts Butchery and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prime Cuts Butchery and Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.