We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For a night or two - it does just fine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shalom House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shalom House
Save Saved
You added Shalom House to your Saves list
P.O.Box 21255, Nairobi 00505, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 158 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“For a night or two - it does just fine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Stayed at the Shalom House prior to a Safari. The staff were all very pleasant and friendly.
The facility is surrounded by a tall fence and guarded entrance. We were with a reasonably large group that arrived all hours of the night - no one had significant issues with getting into their rooms. The rooms were definitely modest, generally clean. I had double room with two twin size beds and a balcony to sit out and look out at the court yard. I had a difficulty figuring out how to turn the hot water heater on - but once I did, the shower ran nice and hot. If you wanted bottled water, that was extra and did not come with the room. The breakfast was great. The hotel is about 1KM from the Junction mall in Nairobi. It was a quick walk during the day - but watch out for cars. It felt somewhat Darwinian walking along the street. At the junction is a grocery store (water was definitely cheaper) and the mall was pleasant with some nice art stores, bakery and places to get minutes on a pre-paid phone. Overall - it's a modest place with a modest price. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    20
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
5
8
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Kind and patient staff.
Good mixture of clients, young, old, Africans and Westerness.
.
Good location with affordable services of restaurants. Also safaries are offert.

Shopping Mall "Junction" in 15 minutes walking distance.

Room Tip: All rooms are practically furnished and luckely with mosquitonets as there where many mosquitos. All...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

I stayed here for a few nights after winding down from being on a road trip and exploring Africa. The staff were very welcoming and accommodating. Great location, walking distance to the shopping mall. Set in secure, peaceful grounds where you can watch the many bird life. Very reasonably priced, clean standard room, breakfast included and good wifi. The restaurant has a nice selection of meals and the staff are very helpful. I would return and stay again.

Asante Sana

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

my wife and I and some friends recently stayed at Shalom House prior to doing a safari trip. It's a great deal for the price, and has two onsite restaurants to boot. The rooms were clean and the mattresses nice and firm. It was pretty noisy most of the day Sunday as next door is a church and they had outside services and singing all day long. not a big deal, though. there is also a shopping center conveniently located nearby in case you need to do any shopping. they also have free wifi. I've stayed there before and will do so again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Shalom House provide hostel type accommodation for travellers. It is affordable, free wifi, good food in dinning room. Don't expect much in the room. It is very basic. 10 minutes walk to nearby "Junction" shopping mall. Could be dangerous to walk outside after dark. Good for mountain climbers in Tanzania, or safari trips.

Room Tip: Don't pick a room that face the back-side garage....dogs bark all night long.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Lovely grounds in a quiet suburb. Onsite restaurant prepares fantastic food. Staff was responsive to our booking and request. Room is clean but spartan, and water heater never worked which is the main downside.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
libreville
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

My wife and i loved this hotel,it is located in a very quite place,no noise,the rooms are very clean,the breakfast is heavy and delicious,the front officers are helpful,friendly and professionals and i was amazed to find one of them speaks a good french,i felt very gd to ask some directions and help in my language
,but the downpoint of shalom house,it is located far from city center which add some charges to your plan,i can recommend it to any friend of mine.....

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shalom House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shalom House

Address: P.O.Box 21255, Nairobi 00505, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 158 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shalom House offers African Hospitality for business, workshops, conferences, seminars and lectures. It also houses accommodation facilities that are pocket friendly. If you are looking to do a wedding, then our beautiful garden with a well-manicured lawn is the place for you. At a minimal fee, you will enjoy high speed wireless broadband internet (WIFI) be it in your room, in the conference halls or at our garden or restaurants. Located just 7km from Nairobi City Centre and only a 35 minutes drive from Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, it is the ideal place to be away from the busy and noisy environment of the city centre. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shalom House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.