We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Karibu Shalom” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shalom House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shalom House
P.O.Box 21255, Nairobi 00505, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 153 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Bunbury, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Karibu Shalom”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

I stayed here for a few nights after winding down from being on a road trip and exploring Africa. The staff were very welcoming and accommodating. Great location, walking distance to the shopping mall. Set in secure, peaceful grounds where you can watch the many bird life. Very reasonably priced, clean standard room, breakfast included and good wifi. The restaurant has a nice selection of meals and the staff are very helpful. I would return and stay again.

Asante Sana

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    19
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
5
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

my wife and I and some friends recently stayed at Shalom House prior to doing a safari trip. It's a great deal for the price, and has two onsite restaurants to boot. The rooms were clean and the mattresses nice and firm. It was pretty noisy most of the day Sunday as next door is a church and they had outside services and singing all day long. not a big deal, though. there is also a shopping center conveniently located nearby in case you need to do any shopping. they also have free wifi. I've stayed there before and will do so again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Shalom House provide hostel type accommodation for travellers. It is affordable, free wifi, good food in dinning room. Don't expect much in the room. It is very basic. 10 minutes walk to nearby "Junction" shopping mall. Could be dangerous to walk outside after dark. Good for mountain climbers in Tanzania, or safari trips.

Room Tip: Don't pick a room that face the back-side garage....dogs bark all night long.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Lovely grounds in a quiet suburb. Onsite restaurant prepares fantastic food. Staff was responsive to our booking and request. Room is clean but spartan, and water heater never worked which is the main downside.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
libreville
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

My wife and i loved this hotel,it is located in a very quite place,no noise,the rooms are very clean,the breakfast is heavy and delicious,the front officers are helpful,friendly and professionals and i was amazed to find one of them speaks a good french,i felt very gd to ask some directions and help in my language
,but the downpoint of shalom house,it is located far from city center which add some charges to your plan,i can recommend it to any friend of mine.....

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mombasa
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

I'm amazed at all the great reviews here. Sure it's cheapish at 5000ksh a night for a couple but so is sleeping in a carboard box. The attitude at the front desk was awful. When we checked in it was "give me the money and I'll show you to your room" and that's a quote. We booked a double room a week in advance and when he showed us the room, two small single beds. So he told us our room had a problem with the toilet. The beds had matresses at most 4" thick foam so were pretty hard. The mosquito nets were full of holes mixed with some patched up with Duct Tape. We went to shower at 11pm but no hot water. Nairobi water in June is absolutely freezing so we just didn't shower. There were some good points. It was clean and the breakfast was good. But I will never stay here again. Spent the next night at Best Western. It was 2 times the price but 100 times better.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I found this hotel on tripadvisor and I agree with the previous reviews. The staff was friendly (tnx Julius for all the tips and directions) and professional, rooms are clean, spacious as well as the bathroom with hot shower. Breakfast was good as well as the traditional Kenyan dinner. Higly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shalom House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shalom House

Address: P.O.Box 21255, Nairobi 00505, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shalom House offers African Hospitality for business, workshops, conferences, seminars and lectures. It also houses accommodation facilities that are pocket friendly. If you are looking to do a wedding, then our beautiful garden with a well-manicured lawn is the place for you. At a minimal fee, you will enjoy high speed wireless broadband internet (WIFI) be it in your room, in the conference halls or at our garden or restaurants. Located just 7km from Nairobi City Centre and only a 35 minutes drive from Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, it is the ideal place to be away from the busy and noisy environment of the city centre. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shalom House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Shalom House to your Saves list