We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shalom House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shalom House
Save
You added Shalom House to your Saves list
P.O.Box 21255, Nairobi 00505, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 162 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“very good hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I found this hotel on tripadvisor and I agree with the previous reviews. The staff was friendly (tnx Julius for all the tips and directions) and professional, rooms are clean, spacious as well as the bathroom with hot shower. Breakfast was good as well as the traditional Kenyan dinner. Higly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    20
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
5
8
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

This place is in a great location, walking distance to a main shopping center. In most cases you'll get anywhere quicker in Nairobi by walking : ) the breakfast was lovely, coffee, tea, eggs, bread. The staff was kind and helpful. The property is beautiful and well kept. Make sure you close the window and use your mosquito net!! Mosquitos are really terrible in Nairobi and I got over 50 bites on one foot... No malaria though . I would stay here again!

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I picked Shalom House based on the rave reviews and was not disappointed. The staff was communicative over email before I arrived, and they were flexible about my length of stay. When I checked in very early, they had my room ready and let me eat breakfast on the house. My room was clean and secure. The area outside my room could get noisy, but earplugs took care of the problem for me. The reception staff was always happy to arrange transportation. The only downside of Shalom House is that it's a bit far from Nairobi's downtown, which adds some cost to the stay if you're commuting in each day.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

I do not think in Nairobi one can find such good standard of accomodation at a lower price. And on top of it a helpful, friendly and smiling staff. A special thank to the efficent manager. Any problem is solved in a short time.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbridge, Ireland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

I have stayed here three times now and will be back for fourth visit soon. Great staff who are always very helpful and nice clean rooms, very good value for money. Safe place to stay while in the area and I would recommend it to anyone going there. Lovely restaurant next door with great food and staff.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

Good prices, good simple food, clean rooms, relaxing garden, but above all peaceful and friendly reception in a town that is difficult and sometime dangerous. I'll be back next time I visit my friends in Nairobi.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

I was in Shalom House for the months of April and May 2012 on a work holiday. in a busy context that is a characteristic Nairobi city, Shalom presented a wonderful and serene environment that facilitates both relax and concentration. as a social enterprise of Koinonia Community its service to the marginalized members of the society is quite an inspiration. The rooms are well maintained, excellent service and the staff is professional, friendly and available. It is quite an experience of the real African Social spirit that is priceless..... thanks again.

Room Tip: Rooms in wing A are bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shalom House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shalom House

Address: P.O.Box 21255, Nairobi 00505, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 162 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shalom House offers African Hospitality for business, workshops, conferences, seminars and lectures. It also houses accommodation facilities that are pocket friendly. If you are looking to do a wedding, then our beautiful garden with a well-manicured lawn is the place for you. At a minimal fee, you will enjoy high speed wireless broadband internet (WIFI) be it in your room, in the conference halls or at our garden or restaurants. Located just 7km from Nairobi City Centre and only a 35 minutes drive from Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, it is the ideal place to be away from the busy and noisy environment of the city centre. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shalom House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.