We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High standards, low price.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shalom House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shalom House
Save Saved
You added Shalom House to your Saves list
P.O.Box 21255, Nairobi 00505, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 154 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Newark, New Jersey
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“High standards, low price.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

I do not think in Nairobi one can find such good standard of accomodation at a lower price. And on top of it a helpful, friendly and smiling staff. A special thank to the efficent manager. Any problem is solved in a short time.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    19
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
5
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newbridge, Ireland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

I have stayed here three times now and will be back for fourth visit soon. Great staff who are always very helpful and nice clean rooms, very good value for money. Safe place to stay while in the area and I would recommend it to anyone going there. Lovely restaurant next door with great food and staff.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

Good prices, good simple food, clean rooms, relaxing garden, but above all peaceful and friendly reception in a town that is difficult and sometime dangerous. I'll be back next time I visit my friends in Nairobi.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

I was in Shalom House for the months of April and May 2012 on a work holiday. in a busy context that is a characteristic Nairobi city, Shalom presented a wonderful and serene environment that facilitates both relax and concentration. as a social enterprise of Koinonia Community its service to the marginalized members of the society is quite an inspiration. The rooms are well maintained, excellent service and the staff is professional, friendly and available. It is quite an experience of the real African Social spirit that is priceless..... thanks again.

Room Tip: Rooms in wing A are bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

I was in Shalom House with four friends, attendind an international conference nearby.
The rooms are clean, food abundant and well prepared.Above all the staff is friendly and helpful, always smiling and ready to assist, and in a difficult town like Nairobi this is a great value for money.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

I was in Kenya last year ago for some journalistic work. In Nairobi, I stayed at Shalom House. It is managed by Koinonia, a socially-minded community whose earnings are used to support the under-privileged, especially street children. Shalom House is a rather new building, located in a good city’s area. It is a haven of quietness and safety. The installations are clean. The staff is very welcoming. I enjoyed the accommodation and I recommend it to all tourists and travelers. If it happens to go back once more - what I wish - I'll surely get accommodation at Shallom House. Jose A. Rebelo - Manila, Philippines

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lecco, Italy
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

I was in Shalom House for two weeks in August 2010 on holidays and to visit some social project of Koinonia Community. The rooms are clean and the personnel very friendly and helpful. The food is well prepared and abundant. The big secure garden a welcome relax after the hectic ways of Nairobi. A great value for money. An homely and youthful atmosphere. Will make sure to go back.
SILVIA

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shalom House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shalom House

Address: P.O.Box 21255, Nairobi 00505, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shalom House offers African Hospitality for business, workshops, conferences, seminars and lectures. It also houses accommodation facilities that are pocket friendly. If you are looking to do a wedding, then our beautiful garden with a well-manicured lawn is the place for you. At a minimal fee, you will enjoy high speed wireless broadband internet (WIFI) be it in your room, in the conference halls or at our garden or restaurants. Located just 7km from Nairobi City Centre and only a 35 minutes drive from Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, it is the ideal place to be away from the busy and noisy environment of the city centre. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shalom House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.