We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“have a guide!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi Mamba Village

Nairobi Mamba Village
Links Road | Nyali, Nairobi, Kenya
254 735992686
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 86 things to do in Nairobi
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: East Africa’s largest crocodile farm.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“have a guide!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We thought this might be a tourist trap but we had a guide showing us around who made it a really interesting and fun trip, we held a crocodile, learned loads and finished with a bbq lunch.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    59
    46
    18
    12
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“nothing much”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I cannot remember what i paid at the gate for my family of 4 (dad, mum, 2kids oldest 6yrs) to see the crocs but i do remember feeling ripped off of my cash: the crocs are in cramped quarters and scared the kids, further, the cages are not well designed and one gets the feeling the animals may get out and bite.

The remedying thing about this place is the dam and the other attractions for kids in a play area across the zoo

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

After having some wonderful experiences on my holiday my visit to the Mamba Crocodile park was a big disappointment. The animals like the staff looked bored and everyone who spoke to us expected a tip in addition to the entry charge. The only person who appeared interested was a nice man who showed us around the snake and 'other' enclosure. After seeing so many animals in the wild this was not a good experience.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Uninspiring "attraction"”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

This attraction was a big disappointment. Our guide, Paula, appeared bored and provided very little information. She also expected a tip! The crocodiles were plentiful but feeding them was a 2 minute wonder. I see from other reviews that there were ostriches and a boat ride but Paula obviously couldn't be bothered to show us. Wouldn't recommend this to anyone but if you do decide to go - cover yourself with ant mosquito lotion!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Rather a let down”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

The entrance fee was quite steep at 650 kenyan shillings.In my opinion not worth the money and everyone you spoke to expected a tip. Big Daddy who is fed only weekly wasn't,t interested in his food on this particular Friday. I have mobility problems and found it quite challenging.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nairobi Mamba Village also viewed

 

Been to Nairobi Mamba Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nairobi Mamba Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.