We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth it” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi Mamba Village

Nairobi Mamba Village
Links Road, P.O. Box 85723 | Nyali, Nairobi, Kenya
254 735992686
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 43 attractions in Nairobi
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Educational Sites, Zoos
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: East Africa’s largest crocodile farm.
Colma, California, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Not worth it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Liked: having guides talk about the crocodiles, turtles and giraffes
Disliked: Expensive for non-Kenyans but there's not a lot to see

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    38
    31
    12
    10
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Crocodile Park”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Kids will love it. Good value if you're going in as a local, probably not worth it if you're paying the tourist rates. May be worth a visit

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mombasa
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Better than I expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Having visited Haller Park many times which has crocodiles and many other animals, I expected Mamba Village to be sub par since its focus is mainly crocs. However, it was pretty good and interesting to see Big Daddy. I went at 4pm on Friday as other reviewers had recommended (Big Daddy is fed at 5pm every Friday) and I enjoyed it. I did pretty much everything - photos with an African Python, a baby croc and took a guide through the plants, fish and Snake area which was very interesting. I don't think it would be so interesting to just turn up in the morning or anything but if you turn up at feeding time, I think most people would enjoy it.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slovenia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“BOOOORING TURISTIC STUFF - stay away”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Have you being to the zoo? OK, than this won't interest you. About five snakes in small cages (horrible torcher of annimals) + many crocodiles. Normali, vcoke is 50 KSH, but here much more expensive. Not worth spending time, exept, if you stay for a month or two only in Mombasa.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Big Daddy! Croc with over 100 years”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Over 40,000 crocodiles! Never seen so many of them in my life! Really big ones, medium ones, small ones, lessons about there lifestyle, fights, why they fight, Big Daddy has 2 wives!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nairobi Mamba Village also viewed

 

Been to Nairobi Mamba Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nairobi Mamba Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Nairobi Mamba Village to your Saves list