We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Delta Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Delta Hotel to your Saves list
Delta Hotel
2.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   University Way, Nairobi, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #72 of 182 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

I have stayed twice at the Delta (totalling 20 nights) and can thoroughly recommend it as reliable budget accommodation to suit the foreign tourist's needs. It is clean, safe, and central. There are comfortable common spaces which are great for either a relaxing read, or to work. Free WiFi, though coverage is thin at peak times.

The rooms are $55 for a very small 'budget' room or $75 for a comfortably sized room. I negotiated a $65 rate for 10 nights stay (twice).

You can go across the street to a 5 star if you want luxury, but this is thoroughly reliable for the budget tourist, ngo or small business person (which I am).

The staff are very kind, even if service takes a little time. But, go to Berlin if you want that. I have stayed 20 nights here in total and have eaten breakfast and a good few dinners here and have never had problems.

I am amazed there are not a lot more European tourists here.

Room Tip: Budget rooms are quite tight. It is worth the few bob to have the comfort one step up. I negotiated...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    4
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
6
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Delta hotel is quite good hotel for tourists. Location is great, in the city center and in the safety area for the tourists. Staff is very friendly. But be careful about the bar inside the hotel. Sometimes it can be loud. After 11 pm music end.

Room Tip: The best room will be on the other side as bar is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurashiki, Japan
Level Contributor
87 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed here one night in transit. Convenient location, near restaurants and supermarkets, 30 min. or so from the airport (if there isn't traffic!). Spacious rooms w/ TV and semi-hot water, big western-style breakfast served in bar downstairs. We paid $105 for a large twin room (2 massive & comfortable double beds), of course it is overpriced, all of Nairobi is!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

The Delta is not a bad place to stay but I don't think it's worth what they charge to stay there.

On my first night I was booked into a deluxe room and due to the cost, relocated to a smaller, singe bed room in a quieter location, but even that was overpriced for the size and quality.

The location is great though, its not quite in downtown Nairobi, but that's a good thing as that reduces the noise. It's only a short walk to the main roads and shops etc. Just around the corner there is a great burger and pizza place, Steers & Debonairs.

One downside of the hotel for me was the lack of natural light, it felt like nighttime or dusk, no matter what time of day it was. The bar and restaurant was ok but not great. I was lucky enough at times to be on time for breakfast but there's not a great selection to choose from, but it fills a hole until lunch.

The service was average though. They do tend to get better if you stay there for a while and get to know them, then they tend to try and do more for you, but otherwise, they can be quite dismissive.

In all it wasn't too bad, some of the decor needs updating but they do tend to be regularly cleaning the floors and rooms. It can be noisy at nights due to the bar/restaurant downstairs where loud music will echo up through the floors, so unless you can block that out, I wouldn't recommend staying here.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Haag, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The location of the Delta hotel is good. For Nairobi concepts, it is quiet safe.
But the furnishing of the hotel is really terrible! The rooms (double room) are quiet large and clean and the shower is ok.

There are a few restaurants and bars directly next to the hotel, so there is a lot of noise until late in the evening. The breakfast is basic.

The hotel is definitely over priced for the service and comfort that they offer.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We stayed here for only a few hours one night, in order to catch an early shuttle to Tanzania. It's conveniently located less than one block from the shuttles on Monrovia Street. They're all parked basically around the corner. All of Nairobi is on the expensive side, so I paid $95USD for really old, questionable sheets in a dark room. It was the only moderate room I could find between a hostel and a five star. The bathroom is kind of a nightmare, as the shower and toilet are in one space. The rooms are quite noisy from the street and passersby in the hall. Even if it had one redeeming quality, I might recommend it, but like I said, it's in a really convenient location in City Center. We even walked to Nairobi Java House in 15 mins. So maybe that's the redeeming quality.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kisumu, Kenya
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

This hotel is right in the middle of the city just across the central police station. Room furnishings are fair at 80 USD for a double.

The 'crowning jewel' is the service. As terrible as it can get. The porter helping with my luggage was disinterested and dragged it and bumped it on just about anything. I had to politely ask him to let me do it myself.
Then the instant water heater in my room blew away within seconds, a really dangerous thing, but the management would not repair it or give me another room. For the whole day, they kept tossing me between themselves and even asked me (more than once) to make certain it was really not working!
No one was even remotely apologetic that I had no warm water in my room.
It was my first time trying out this place and they outdid themselves in sending me away. I would not recommend this hotel to my enemy.

Room Tip: Once you pay, you are on your own.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.1 mi away
Kenya Comfort Hotel
Kenya Comfort Hotel
#69 of 129 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 stars 174 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Central Park Nairobi
Hotel Central Park Nairobi
#52 of 129 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 25 reviews
0.3 mi away
Meridian Hotel
Meridian Hotel
#16 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 764 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sentrim 680 Hotel
Sentrim 680 Hotel
#57 of 129 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 stars 143 reviews
2.0 mi away
PrideInn Hotel Raphta Road
PrideInn Hotel Raphta Road
#42 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Hotel

Address: University Way, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 182 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Delta Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Delta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delta Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.