We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Delta Hotel

Save Saved
You added Delta Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Delta Hotel
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   University Way, Nairobi, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 154 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Warsaw, Poland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Quite good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Delta hotel is quite good hotel for tourists. Location is great, in the city center and in the safety area for the tourists. Staff is very friendly. But be careful about the bar inside the hotel. Sometimes it can be loud. After 11 pm music end.

Room Tip: The best room will be on the other side as bar is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    4
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
6
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kurashiki, Japan
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed here one night in transit. Convenient location, near restaurants and supermarkets, 30 min. or so from the airport (if there isn't traffic!). Spacious rooms w/ TV and semi-hot water, big western-style breakfast served in bar downstairs. We paid $105 for a large twin room (2 massive & comfortable double beds), of course it is overpriced, all of Nairobi is!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

The Delta is not a bad place to stay but I don't think it's worth what they charge to stay there.

On my first night I was booked into a deluxe room and due to the cost, relocated to a smaller, singe bed room in a quieter location, but even that was overpriced for the size and quality.

The location is great though, its not quite in downtown Nairobi, but that's a good thing as that reduces the noise. It's only a short walk to the main roads and shops etc. Just around the corner there is a great burger and pizza place, Steers & Debonairs.

One downside of the hotel for me was the lack of natural light, it felt like nighttime or dusk, no matter what time of day it was. The bar and restaurant was ok but not great. I was lucky enough at times to be on time for breakfast but there's not a great selection to choose from, but it fills a hole until lunch.

The service was average though. They do tend to get better if you stay there for a while and get to know them, then they tend to try and do more for you, but otherwise, they can be quite dismissive.

In all it wasn't too bad, some of the decor needs updating but they do tend to be regularly cleaning the floors and rooms. It can be noisy at nights due to the bar/restaurant downstairs where loud music will echo up through the floors, so unless you can block that out, I wouldn't recommend staying here.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Haag, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The location of the Delta hotel is good. For Nairobi concepts, it is quiet safe.
But the furnishing of the hotel is really terrible! The rooms (double room) are quiet large and clean and the shower is ok.

There are a few restaurants and bars directly next to the hotel, so there is a lot of noise until late in the evening. The breakfast is basic.

The hotel is definitely over priced for the service and comfort that they offer.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We stayed here for only a few hours one night, in order to catch an early shuttle to Tanzania. It's conveniently located less than one block from the shuttles on Monrovia Street. They're all parked basically around the corner. All of Nairobi is on the expensive side, so I paid $95USD for really old, questionable sheets in a dark room. It was the only moderate room I could find between a hostel and a five star. The bathroom is kind of a nightmare, as the shower and toilet are in one space. The rooms are quite noisy from the street and passersby in the hall. Even if it had one redeeming quality, I might recommend it, but like I said, it's in a really convenient location in City Center. We even walked to Nairobi Java House in 15 mins. So maybe that's the redeeming quality.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kisumu, Kenya
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

This hotel is right in the middle of the city just across the central police station. Room furnishings are fair at 80 USD for a double.

The 'crowning jewel' is the service. As terrible as it can get. The porter helping with my luggage was disinterested and dragged it and bumped it on just about anything. I had to politely ask him to let me do it myself.
Then the instant water heater in my room blew away within seconds, a really dangerous thing, but the management would not repair it or give me another room. For the whole day, they kept tossing me between themselves and even asked me (more than once) to make certain it was really not working!
No one was even remotely apologetic that I had no warm water in my room.
It was my first time trying out this place and they outdid themselves in sending me away. I would not recommend this hotel to my enemy.

Room Tip: Once you pay, you are on your own.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Nairobi seems to be an expensive place as far as hotels are concerned. For a hotel like Delta where we booked a triple room and a single room, the cost of more than $ 300 seemed steep. The triple cost around $ 220.00 and the single $ 80.00. The single was so small that it could just about accommodate a bed and barely had place to move. As I was there just for 11 hours and had to spend the night- it didn't matter too much. Breakfast was OK . The hotel gives an impression of being small but I think its fairly decent size as it covers quite a bit of area.
The lift wasn't working so the staff carried my suitcase to 2nd floor. Breakfast next morning was
The place is pretty close to to downtown business district. There were a few eating places nearby so you didn't have to eat at hotel if you didn't want to.
I don't know if this hotel was expensive or is Nairobi generally an expensive place to stay. My stay was too short to investigate this aspect.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Delta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Hotel

Address: University Way, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Delta Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Delta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delta Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.