We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice serene location, perfect for a get away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eden Gardens

Save Saved
You added Eden Gardens to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Eden Gardens
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   26 Convent Drive, Nairobi 00603, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 156 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
“Nice serene location, perfect for a get away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

I enjoyed my stay along with my Indian colleagues...Very friendly staff. One of my colleagues was vegetarian and the chef was kind enough to tailor make a recipe to suit us. The internet is super fast. It has a home feel and would recommend it for anyone who wants to get away from the noise and clutter of Nairobi. Ideal for families and couples too.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    16
    3
    6
    4
See reviews for
3
16
4
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

The staff was great -- very friendly and always happy to assist with any requests. Pretty tasty food, excellent service.

Wifi in my room didn't work... It was quite hot and no A/C, only a fan that wasn't very strong. When I was there their credit card machine was down and had to use up all my USD cash, which I needed for visa entry fees for my next destination, so that was a bit of a setback.

The room was pretty average, nothing spectacular but will definitely do if you need a place to lay your head during transit.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

If you are looking for a place to work and need internet connection, this is the place to go to. The staff is friendly, and Anni the manager will make sure you have everything you need.

The breakfast is good, so is the food you can buy for dinner and lunch. It is located in a quit safe area, so ice if you want to avoid the loud downtown area.

The drive from the airport is about 45 minuts, with moderate traffic.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Ten reasons for choosing the Eden Gardens:
1. Peace of mind - do business not deal with issues
2. Quiet environment - you are in the suburb not downtown
3. Upscale neighborhood - beautiful layout and nice neighbors
4. High security - no security concerns whatsoever
5. Professional staff- cannot improve on Ann, Monique, Grace, Asman, Sheila, or Phoebe
6. Meeting space- indoors or outside, they make your business meetings successful
7. Easy to find: Lavington on the Convent Road, take the right at the ABC store on Waiyaki, and a left on to Kisaberian and straight up and down the hill and you are there-25 minutes to downtown, UN compound, USAID, Limuru road, Gigeri
8. Mosquito nets: never underestimate the power of the mosquito to ruin your life
9. Breakfast, lunch and dinner: there is absolutely no need to go anywhere--nutritious, filling and delicious meals.
10. The Pool: whether it is to cool off or do exercises or enjoy the sight--it is clean, inviting and refreshing
11. Okay I am over ten, but there's more to say
12. Artwork on the walls -- local beautiful colorful
13. Brew your own coffee--I am a real brewed coffee aficionado and every morning I am welcomed to use my coffee press for rich, brewed lattes. Oh my!
14. The food: fresh vegetables, brown rice, fish, salad, meat, you have to experience it to realize just how wonderfully tasty it is
15. Family accommodations: a whole guesthouse for families, interconnecting suites for families.
16. Hostel environment: informal, comfortable, meet your neighbors, make new business and social friends
17. Daily cleanliness: every single day every part of the hotel is cleaned. And if there are spaces you think should be cleaned, just say the word, and it will be done. (I am a clean freak and when I saw uncleaned corners, I raised the concern and it was taken care of immediately).
18. The ownership: Danish owners understand the needs of international business people and the wants of vacationers--everyone is accommodated
19. Ok, I am going to finally say cost: well you cannot beat the price period, must less for what you get. I am paying $40 a night and sharing a bathroom. I was concerned at first but then I understood that i do not have to deal with a bathroom in my room and I felt totally happy. I like having my toiletries and my needs somewhere other than my room. To save $15 a night just to walk five feet to my "own" bathroom is just wonderful.
20. No smoking policy--thank you!
21. Still have not instituted recycling of bottles and cans--please make mention when you visit.
22. Walking: I am a walker and I walk every day down Chalbi Drive for three or more miles back and forth. Everyone is friendly. Now I want to walk to say hi to the people.
23. Car service: excellent cars and drivers, courteous, knowledgeable, good cars, and please negotiate!
24. Access to food, money exchange-- a half mile down the road is a Nakumatt with everything you need--I walk there and walk back. Nice, no problems.
25. Other Residents: when you find people who care about the same things you do, it makes life really pleasant.
26. Presentation: everything is in its right place at the right time, and if it isn't, just say the word
27. Digital platforms: wireless connections 24/7
28. TV: all the channels from all the countries
29. Service: frankly, better than the Hilton or the Laica Regency; why? Because they mean it and you are on the ground floor and can walk around and simply be yourself.
30. Security: I am a businesswoman and I care about my security. Once you are here, everyone in the neighborhood looks out for you. Not just at the hotel but the security guards everywhere. they get to know you. Each person is everyone's responsibility. Find that downtown if you can.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good. I care mostly about cost so I chose to share a bathroom. I have been here al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kufstein, Austria
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Eden Garden has simple rooms, but it has very friendly staff and is situated in a quiet and safe part of Nairobi. Everything you need is near: restaurant (also in Eden Garden), supermarket, bank...
The staff also organized well my airport transfer.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I wouldn’t say that Eden Gardens is for a “luxuru seeker” but it is a place that gave me the sence of “being at home”
Smiling and warm people, always found a way to make me feel comfortable and relaxed…
Wonderful surroundings and a lovely pool…

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

My family arrived in Nairobi from Ethiopia, so we were hoping for more of an upgrade in living environment. While the customer service was excellent by Alice at the front desk and the Chef who cooked the excellent breakfast, the overall condition of the "hotel" was average at best. The good news is that the price per room is fairly reasonable, especially since it includes breakfast.

In the three rooms that we booked, two of them had a shared bathroom which was fine except that we didn't know that you need to turn on the "hot water switch" to get the hot water to work. The shared bathroom also needs to be updated.

In the two rooms with a shared bathroom, both of them had an electric wire hanging down in the middle of the room with an exposed light bulb on the wire. In the house that we rented, the furnishing were much nicer and includes a living room and kitchen. However, we could not get the hot water to work even after clicking the hot water button.

The breakfasts were excellent and the Chef worked to get exactly what we ordered and at the time requested. The room for the breakfasts is very nice and has a sitting area and TV in it.

The area around the "hotel" (it is really just a couple of houses converted to a hotel) is well-landscaped and there is a small waterfall and a pool in the property. The hotel is surrounded by a wall and metal gate and has a guard, so we felt safe. The sorrounding area is a neighborhood. The hotel is about a 30 minutes drive from the airport, which can be longer if Nairobi traffic is bad (which it regularly is).

Overall we really appreciated the customer service, but the facilties weren't at a level currently that we would stay there again.

Room Tip: Getting a room with a bathroom is worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eden Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden Gardens

Address: 26 Convent Drive, Nairobi 00603, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Eden Gardens 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eden Gardens is situated in a homely lush garden in the heart of Lavington just 6km from the centre of one of Africa’s most vibrant capital cities, Nairobi. Eden Gardens is a small haven of peace, intimacy and tranquility. With only 5 rooms, it is more than a home away from home.Whether you’re in Nairobi for a night or a month, Eden Gardens has something to suit your needs.Try us. If you like the sound of birds, wind in the trees, and green lawns with a river running by, yet you need to be close to the action, then Eden Gardens is for you. Conveniently located in the Lavington suburb of Nairobi, Eden Gardens has easy access to the major highways and is less than 2 minutes from James Gichuru Road. What's more, the Lavington Shopping Centre is within walking distance where there is access to banks, hairdressers and a supermarket. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Eden Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eden Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.