We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Nairobi - A nice relaxing experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eden Gardens

Save Saved
You added Eden Gardens to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Eden Gardens
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   26 Convent Drive, Nairobi 00603, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 154 Nairobi B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Hotel Nairobi - A nice relaxing experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Its a nice hotel with nice customer care and a nice swimming pool. The environment is just perfect for a person who just wants to relax and feel rejuvenated...It suits couples who just need to be alone somewhere by themselves with no disturbance at all..It was cool for me and my wife for we felt this must be our dream home....kudos guys and keep it up looking forward to visiting you again...

Room Tip: rooms overseeing the pool are just nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    16
    3
    6
    4
See reviews for
3
16
4
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kaduna
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Eden Gardens gives you the feeling that you are in your own house with paid for domestic services. My wife and I felt that we were living in our own house in Nairobi and the service was quite personalized. A driver was available, a cook, a gardener etc.

Lavington is a very quiet and serene part of Nairobi and it provided a very good place for my wife and I to spend some quiet time together away from the hustle and bustle of down-town. It can also be a good weekend getaway for residents of Kenya.

Room Tip: Pick any room and you'll be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

This a tough review to write. Tough because all the positive things said about Eden Gardens in other reviews posted here are absolutely true. Especially the wonderful staff.

But, and it's a huge but, Eden Gardens is a death trap. The facility has every window covered by steel bars. The two doors to the outside have steel gates. In the evening these gates are closed and locked with hardware that requires a key to unlock. Note that guest room keys will not unlock the exit doors. There are no smoke detectors anywhere--not in my room, not in the hallways, not in the common room.

The bars on the windows are sufficiently strong that you will not be able to kick your way out. The same is true of the gates on the exit doors.

In the evening there is someone on duty but that person goes to bed sometime after midnight.

What this means is that smoke from a fire having started, for example, in the kitchen or common room, would entirely engulf the place before anyone knew what had happened. If anyone would awaken--most people don't, they die in their sleep from the smoke--the hallway and exit door areas would be filled with smoke from ceiling to floor. There is no way the evening attendant would be able to locate the exit door's locks and evacuate the guests.

Now, I realize this cage-the-bad-guys-out is the "norm" in Kenya for this price point. Nonetheless, at the very least the owners need to install smoke detectors throughout. They should be linked so that when one alarms they all do. Second, guests should be provided keys that will allow them to open the exit doors--they could check them in/out to prevent them from leaving the guesthouse. Third, night staff should not be permitted to sleep.

Ideally, an integrated alarm system, true exit doors that don't require unlocking and operable exits from each room would be best. But, probably too expensive given the size of the place.

If you are intent on staying at Eden Gardens you should bring with you a hacksaw with extra blades (18tpi) and a couple of smoke detectors. Seriously.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Communications were excellent - Endre is fast at responding to inquiries. The staff is great and very helpful.

My room (shared bathroom) was small, but fine. It was very quiet and after months of living near Mombasa, it is nice to be able to sleep under the covers (and without a fan).

The bathroom was a bit dated, as another reviewer noted, but functional.

Breakfast was delicious, made-to-order, and much more than I could eat.

The only glitch I had was transport as it is a bit tricky getting around if you don't have a car or can afford taxis (taxis in Nairobi are overpriced). It is a bit of a trek (walk to main road and then 2 matatus) to get to/from town, but once you figure it out, it is fine. I talked to Endre about the directions to the hotel and he is correcting what is on the internet.

All in all, good value and a good place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This is a great low-medium priced option in Nairobi, especially if you have a car. It is located on a beautiful street with easy access to Nakumatt Junction Mall and Valley Arcade. It is the best place we have stayed in Nairobi at this price.

The rooms are very spacious and the linens extremely comfortable. The internet is fast.

The bathrooms are average, probably the biggest drawback of the B+B. But they are clean and functional.

There is a matatu stage about ten minutes walk if you need to take public transport to town.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I have stayed at five different hotels in Nairobi. Eden Gardens ranks at the number two spot of them all (overall). If I factor in price, Eden Gardens ranks number one. Eden Gardens is currently undergoing renovations and that is the only improvement necessary. I would love to see it in a year's time.
The staff are AWESOME. They are beautiful and very attentive. The hotel was VERY CLEAN. Internet service was the best that I ever experienced in Nairobi. I am not a food critic, but breakfast was EXTREMELY good. The staff made whatever I wanted and I must say that it was very tasty.
Upon both arrival and departure, Endre came out to greet me. I never experienced this in any Nairobi or any other city hotel. The reservations were also smooth and professional. The location is also great. The running stream could be heard at night and made for a restful sleep.
All being said - I WILL DEFINITELY RETURN.

Room Tip: Back Room is best
See more room tips
Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I had an amazing time there! the staff were really kind and easygoing. They would provide you with all you need. If you feel like cooking there, make sure you take the ingredients you need since they only have stuff for breakfast that is actually pretty decent! It was great to be there!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eden Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden Gardens

Address: 26 Convent Drive, Nairobi 00603, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Eden Gardens 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eden Gardens is situated in a homely lush garden in the heart of Lavington just 6km from the centre of one of Africa’s most vibrant capital cities, Nairobi. Eden Gardens is a small haven of peace, intimacy and tranquility. With only 5 rooms, it is more than a home away from home.Whether you’re in Nairobi for a night or a month, Eden Gardens has something to suit your needs.Try us. If you like the sound of birds, wind in the trees, and green lawns with a river running by, yet you need to be close to the action, then Eden Gardens is for you. Conveniently located in the Lavington suburb of Nairobi, Eden Gardens has easy access to the major highways and is less than 2 minutes from James Gichuru Road. What's more, the Lavington Shopping Centre is within walking distance where there is access to banks, hairdressers and a supermarket. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Eden Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eden Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.