We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable rooms, good price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eden Gardens

Save Saved
You added Eden Gardens to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Eden Gardens
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   26 Convent Drive, Nairobi 00603, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 157 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Comfortable rooms, good price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This is a great low-medium priced option in Nairobi, especially if you have a car. It is located on a beautiful street with easy access to Nakumatt Junction Mall and Valley Arcade. It is the best place we have stayed in Nairobi at this price.

The rooms are very spacious and the linens extremely comfortable. The internet is fast.

The bathrooms are average, probably the biggest drawback of the B+B. But they are clean and functional.

There is a matatu stage about ten minutes walk if you need to take public transport to town.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    16
    3
    6
    4
See reviews for
3
16
4
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I have stayed at five different hotels in Nairobi. Eden Gardens ranks at the number two spot of them all (overall). If I factor in price, Eden Gardens ranks number one. Eden Gardens is currently undergoing renovations and that is the only improvement necessary. I would love to see it in a year's time.
The staff are AWESOME. They are beautiful and very attentive. The hotel was VERY CLEAN. Internet service was the best that I ever experienced in Nairobi. I am not a food critic, but breakfast was EXTREMELY good. The staff made whatever I wanted and I must say that it was very tasty.
Upon both arrival and departure, Endre came out to greet me. I never experienced this in any Nairobi or any other city hotel. The reservations were also smooth and professional. The location is also great. The running stream could be heard at night and made for a restful sleep.
All being said - I WILL DEFINITELY RETURN.

Room Tip: Back Room is best
See more room tips
Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I had an amazing time there! the staff were really kind and easygoing. They would provide you with all you need. If you feel like cooking there, make sure you take the ingredients you need since they only have stuff for breakfast that is actually pretty decent! It was great to be there!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Entebbe, Uganda
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I was looking for a hotel to stay in Nairobi when I stumbled upon Eden Garden Hotel's website. The website has a live chat and I was able to chat with an operator. He was very friendly and helped me arrange transfers from the airport once I got to Nairobi. The cab service was excellent; the driver (Samuel) was very informative, he gave me a quick orientation of Nairobi. Whenever I needed him he was always on time and took me to which ever place I wanted, even recommending best deal places.
The place is very homely,very clean and neat with a vintage feel. The front desk manager (Esther) was polite and kind. I noticed that the water heater in my bathroom wasn't working but it was fixed immediately I reported, which was good. My room was very spacious and the bed was comfortable with a mosquito net (the area has mosquitoes). Break fast is served from 8:30am, however you can request for an earlier breakfast which I found convenient considering that I had to be out early.
They only provide breakfast, typically toasted bread, Spanish omelet, sausages, fruit juice, coffee/African tea and fruits, though you can request for something else. You could find a decent place around to have your other meals. The Wi-Fi was very good only that sometimes it was unstable especially when I tried to use my smart phone.
The gardens are well done and the swimming pool is in good condition only that it was not very clean. I must say I really enjoyed my stay there and next time I am in Nairobi, I won't hesitate check in.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Ours was a last-minute reservation and Endre was quick to respond. Our room was large and comfortable, and the staff was very helpful, helping us negotiate rates with local taxis/drivers. Breakfast was hot, filling and made to order. The weather was a bit cool for a dip in the pool, but we enjoyed reading outside in the garden. Overall, based on our experience elsewhere in Nairobi: excellent value!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We only stayed 1 day but the facilities were excellent. Clean and well cared for. The staff was amazing! Super friendly. We loved it! Highly recommended to anyone traveling in Kenya.

We came in mid-morning and were served a very tasty breakfast and then rested awhile before drifting off to sleep for a few hours. We had traveled on a 7 day safari then took a 4 day trip to Dubai. This was a scheduled stop on a 12-hour layover between Nairobi and Addis Ababa - beats heck out of sitting in the airport for 12 hours!

Bottom line: Very nice, clean and comfortable stay for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Had a fantastic experience at Eden Gardens. The staff was kind and attentive, the place is beautiful, the room was comfortable, and the wifi was literally the best of any I'd found in all of Kenya (probably helped that my room was right by the router :)). I was streaming TV shows like whoa, something I had missed being able to do. Would highly recommend Eden Gardens and would love to visit again the next time I'm in Nairobi! Thanks Endre!

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Eden Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden Gardens

Address: 26 Convent Drive, Nairobi 00603, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Eden Gardens 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eden Gardens is situated in a homely lush garden in the heart of Lavington just 6km from the centre of one of Africa’s most vibrant capital cities, Nairobi. Eden Gardens is a small haven of peace, intimacy and tranquility. With only 5 rooms, it is more than a home away from home.Whether you’re in Nairobi for a night or a month, Eden Gardens has something to suit your needs.Try us. If you like the sound of birds, wind in the trees, and green lawns with a river running by, yet you need to be close to the action, then Eden Gardens is for you. Conveniently located in the Lavington suburb of Nairobi, Eden Gardens has easy access to the major highways and is less than 2 minutes from James Gichuru Road. What's more, the Lavington Shopping Centre is within walking distance where there is access to banks, hairdressers and a supermarket. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Eden Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eden Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;