We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great safari in November 2013” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Explorer Kenya - Safari Day Tours

Explorer Kenya - Safari Day Tours
Nairobi, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)
+254202010639
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 110 Activities in Nairobi
Type: Tours
Attraction Details
Berlin, Germany
1 review
“Great safari in November 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Our first time in Kenia was an 8-days Safari with Kenia Expoler in November 2013. Our driver was Nick. An excellent organization, perfect service, professional communication, a very competent and experienced driver - all this makes our vacation to the best and most enjoyable holidays we ever had! We always felt safe with our driver and we got a lot of interesting information from him about the country, the culture, the people and the animals. He has shown us really all animals that can be seen on a safari in Kenya in 5 National Parks that we have visited (incl. some rare animal species like serval cat).
Thank you very much for the great time!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    14
    1
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect trip with excellent guide.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

After getting many quotes from different companies, Robert was the fastest to reply and came back with the cheapest quote. Having read these reviews, it was a no brainer.

Michael (our excellent guide) picked me up from my hotel and drove us to the Maasai Mara where we saw everything we could possibly want and more. He was extremely knowledgeable, reactive to what we wanted to look for, funny, diligent and patient. The camp we stayed in (Mara Sidai) was beautiful and lovely.

Lake Nakuru was different but equally special. Michael continued to impress.

The only thing to be aware of in Kenya is that there is plenty of driving around involved. But the trip was superb.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Brilliant budget option”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Booked a 4-night Masai Mara/Nakuru safari as part of a round-the-world trip so were looking for the best budget option. This was one of the cheapest safaris we could find but that is no reflection on quality. We had a great time and saw everything we wanted to see. The guides could perhaps have been a little more informative but this is true of many African safaris regardless of budget. The camps were a little basic but we feel this added to the experience. We saw all of the 'big five' within two days and much, much more. Efficient and informative correspondence before the trip with (reasonably) on-time pickup from Nairobi. Would definitely recommend for the budget-conscious traveller.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great safari with fantastic guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Kenya Safari arranged our 4 night safari in the Masai Mara and Lake Nakuru and we loved every minute! This was the best value safari we could find by far and every element of the trip exceeded our expectations. Our guide, Michael, was passionate and knowledgeable and the accomodation and transport were clean and comfortable. As with all drive in safaris, there was a lot of time spent on the road, so be prepared for a sore bum, but it was all worth it. It's not luxury, but if you're looking for a great value safari then from our experience you can't go far wrong with Kenya Explorer.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great customer service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We had to cancel our trip at the last moment due to a medical emergency. Robert Murigi at Explorer Kenya was kind enough to arrange for a refund for us - promptly and courteously - not all the tour operators we have travelled with would show such flexibility and understanding. Really appreciate the gesture and hope to travel with them next time!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Explorer Kenya - Safari Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Explorer Kenya - Safari Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Explorer Kenya - Safari Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.