We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Explorer Kenya - Safari Day Tours

Explorer Kenya - Safari Day Tours
Nairobi, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)
254733899909
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
South Africa
1 review
“Value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Booked 3-nights budget to-join trip from Nairobi to Masai-Mara in the crazy migration season. All our requirements were complied with but we yet have to meet an employee of Explorer Kenya. There are hundreds of agents/operators to Masai-Mara and they seem to mix and match clients with available vehicles and beds in order to maximise the use of available capacity. No complaints other than that this caused us uncertainty initially because the website does not make it clear to the client. However, the trip's price was determined on the basis of "to join" which presumably also means that one may have to join with another agent's group in an unbranded vehicle. Somehow the system is efficient and effective and the driver has been briefed about one's requirements before boarding, and clients in the same bus is accommodated in adjoining camps for ease of pick-up for game drives. Game drives may be full day with a lunch box. Don't expect to see the Mara River crossing as shown on National Geographic.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    16
    2
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky, United States
1 review
“Fabulous Driver/Guides”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I can't express how much John and Peter added to the students' great experience in Kenya. They quickly become invaluable members of our team. Their professionalism, insights, patience with all our questions, and sense of ministry are a rare combination. Our day trip to Nakuru Park was the best ever. We even saw a leopard (thanks to the keen eyes of John Kariuki!
People in the States often ask if I ever feel unsafe in Kenya, especially when responsible for others who are with me, like seminary students. The biggest reason I can answer "no" to that questions is our driver-guides. They look out for us as if we were their personal guests, even family. I'm so grateful for this, Robert. Thank you for providing us with such terrific folks and reliable, safe transportation,
Ellen

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Unbelievable safari and great customer service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Had an amazing time on our safari with our fantastic guide Martin. He made sure we always had a front row seat to all the goings on in the park. We arrive to a huge queue for the wildebeest crossing but after some careful maneuvering Martin got us the best seats in the house to watch the unbelievable spectacle. The organizers were great and responded quickly to all contact and we always concerned with their customer satisfaction. Slight hiccup with the schedule but this was quickly and efficiently dealt with.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Thanks robert!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I must admit booking a safari over the internet to a company in africa was a bit daunting would anyone even be at the airport to meet us? Well i neednt have worried and sorry for wakeing you up robert that was an over enthusiastic somebody trying to help. Myself and grandaughter had a great safari in the masai mara with nathanial and michael for amboseli. The kibo camp at amboseli was amazing. Had a great elephant experience male lions and cheetas were a bit of a let down but i know they do not come out on appointments. Had a great experience with my grandaughter thanks again debby pell and chantelle. Thanks nathaniel and michael.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tainan, Taiwan
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Safari~”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

it was simply amazing!
everything was well organized
our driver was always helpful , friendly and professional and with very good eye sight,
I really recommend Explorer Kenya ,
We had a wonderful time.
Most unforgettable holiday ever

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Explorer Kenya - Safari Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Explorer Kenya - Safari Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Explorer Kenya - Safari Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.