We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 days Masai Mara Wilderbeast Migration” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Explorer Kenya - Safari Day Tours

Explorer Kenya - Safari Day Tours
Nairobi, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Kitchener, Canada
1 review
“3 days Masai Mara Wilderbeast Migration”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I would say that overall the service was great. The staff go out of their way to accommodate customers before arriving. I would say that preparing in advance with Robert online is probably the most important part of the organization process as he helped me prepare things that I did not even think would be something that needed my attention. They grouped us with great people. We were non-smokers so I think grouping us with non-smokers was not only appreciated but was very smart.

We got there the first night, put our stuff in our tent and headed off for a quick trek before supper. That night we had no lights in the tent but they took care of it moments after we mentioned it. Overall, the food was good. Bring your own water! This is very important. The food was good but simple and I brought snacks for the tent just in case. The full day of trekkin was an adventure. Eric did his best to find us the Big 5. We did not see the Rhino but we did see baby cheetahs, a leopard, a lion and lioness mating, and all sorts of other wildlife. Eric was on his phone texting a lot and it would have been nice to have some guidance as to what the name of the animals are and some neat facts about them.

Knowing how bad the road is to come in, I would have liked to know about a fly in option. I think for travelers who are a little older, this would be a very convenient option.

You have to enjoy camping in a tent, if you don't, this option is not for you.

The best part was the price. You get to see the same show as everyone else in the Masai Mara except that you paid SO much less. The accommodations will be different in comparison to someone paying to stay in a lodge but if you're up for a camping adventure at a great price, this is the trip of a lifetime.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“thank you Explorer Kenya for the great safaris”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We booked a safari with Explorer Kenya this year and in 2011.

Last year we went to Masai Mara and Lake Nakuru. Since we were very happy with the organisation and our personal driver John, we decided to book another safari tour with the same company and driver and we were very satisfied again. This year we went to Samburu, Lake Naivasha and Masai Mara.

Booking the trip was very easy and friendly. And when asking questions by e-mail, the answers came within 24 hours or less. Which is really nice.

Our driver and guide John is very friendly, funny, relaxed and discrete driver who tried to show us a maximum of game possible. We always felt extremely safe with his driving skills.

I would ask for his services a third time! So I really recommend him as a driver and guide.

Last year, we stayed in the Serena lodges. The Serena lodge in Masai Mara and tents were incredibly nice and food was delicious. On the other hand, Serena in Lake Nakaru was a bit less accomodation wise.

This year, we stayed in Sopa Lodge: really enjoyed the Sopa lodges in Samburu and Lake Naivasha but the rooms in Sopa lodge in Masai Mara were a little bit less luxurious and very dark, even though the staff was extremely friendly, as always.

So if you are looking for reliable organization: certainely check the explorer kenya website.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Very Modest Transport and Tent Camping”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

In spite of the very positive reviews on TripAdvisor, my wife and I were quite disappointed with the late hotel pick up (one hour late), dirty van for travel to and from the game reserve, and sub par tent accommodation and food. We were certainly not expecting luxury, but the level of service was very minimal. We did enjoy very much seeing the animals in the game reserve, however, and the guide's desire to show us the Big Five.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Explorerk, Owner at Explorer Kenya - Safari Day Tours, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
I would like to apologize for the late pick up. For group camping safaris this may happen at times though not often as there are flights that arrive Nairobi at 2:00 AM and 3:45 AM thus if a client is taking the safari the same morning and he decides to take a short nap he may wake up late and delay the rest of the group. We try send different vehicles to pick other persons but sometimes there are hiccups. We will review our pick up modalities and see how best we can avoid delays and keep updating clients at their hotels if any delay is to occur.
It is currently raining in Nairobi and the drainage system on the roads is not very efficient thus a driver leaving home with a clean van or land cruiser will get to the hotel or pick up point with the vehicle having been splashed on not very clean water from pot holes and passing vehicles. This sometimes is unavoidable during the rainy season. We ensure the vehicle is clean inside and provide our drivers with funds to clean the vehicle after game drives at camps and lodges where this service is provided but in some areas this is not possible till you get to a nearby town if you are on a longer safari. If the van is not clean on the inside then this is driver negligence and we have checks to ensure this does not happen.
On a budget camping safari accommodation provided is clean and comfortable but not luxury that is why we indicate this is a budget safari. The tents are basic stand alone, with beds, sheets and bed covers, shower and toilet at the back of the tent. This accommodation is for persons not interested in luxury accommodation which can also be booked for you as per your request. We try advise clients on what to expect but at times expectations and what is on the ground get mixed up. It is therefore important for us to work together so that we are able to provide the services we promise. We value our clients feed back and will work on all the issues mentioned to ensure better services in future. Our clients satisfaction means a lot to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“3 day Maasai Mara safari”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We highly recommend Explorer Kenya. Peter our driver picked us up in Nairobi and took us on a road with a view of the great rift valley and on to Masai Mara. Everything was very well organized with an evening game drive the day we got there, a whole day game drive the next and a very early morning game drive the last day. We were there in late September and had just missed the last of the great migration, but we saw almost everything we wanted to see with the exception of rhinos. We will definitely try to catch the migration next time we go

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
“5 day Tsavo-Amboseli-Nairobi safari”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We highly recommend Explorer Kenya. John Kariuki picked us up from Mombasa and gave us a 4 day trip through the different environments of East and West Tsavo and Amboseli that was just fantastic. By the end, we had seen everything but rhino so we booked John for another day and spent it in Nairobi game park, where we saw four. John is a very safe and skilled driver, vastly knowledgeable about game and birds (and all things Kenyan for that matter) and has a wonderfully dry sense of humour. And we strongly recommend paying a bit more to get a proper landrover-type truck rather than a minibus - it made a big difference in room and comfort. We will definitely use Explorer Kenya again. Asante sana guys, John especially.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Explorer Kenya - Safari Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing