We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“thank you Explorer Kenya for the great safaris” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Explorer Kenya - Safari Day Tours

Explorer Kenya - Safari Day Tours
Nairobi, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)
+254202010639
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 184 Attractions in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“thank you Explorer Kenya for the great safaris”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We booked a safari with Explorer Kenya this year and in 2011.

Last year we went to Masai Mara and Lake Nakuru. Since we were very happy with the organisation and our personal driver John, we decided to book another safari tour with the same company and driver and we were very satisfied again. This year we went to Samburu, Lake Naivasha and Masai Mara.

Booking the trip was very easy and friendly. And when asking questions by e-mail, the answers came within 24 hours or less. Which is really nice.

Our driver and guide John is very friendly, funny, relaxed and discrete driver who tried to show us a maximum of game possible. We always felt extremely safe with his driving skills.

I would ask for his services a third time! So I really recommend him as a driver and guide.

Last year, we stayed in the Serena lodges. The Serena lodge in Masai Mara and tents were incredibly nice and food was delicious. On the other hand, Serena in Lake Nakaru was a bit less accomodation wise.

This year, we stayed in Sopa Lodge: really enjoyed the Sopa lodges in Samburu and Lake Naivasha but the rooms in Sopa lodge in Masai Mara were a little bit less luxurious and very dark, even though the staff was extremely friendly, as always.

So if you are looking for reliable organization: certainely check the explorer kenya website.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    15
    1
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
San Luis Obispo, California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Very Modest Transport and Tent Camping”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

In spite of the very positive reviews on TripAdvisor, my wife and I were quite disappointed with the late hotel pick up (one hour late), dirty van for travel to and from the game reserve, and sub par tent accommodation and food. We were certainly not expecting luxury, but the level of service was very minimal. We did enjoy very much seeing the animals in the game reserve, however, and the guide's desire to show us the Big Five.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Explorerk, Owner at Explorer Kenya - Safari Day Tours, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
I would like to apologize for the late pick up. For group camping safaris this may happen at times though not often as there are flights that arrive Nairobi at 2:00 AM and 3:45 AM thus if a client is taking the safari the same morning and he decides to take a short nap he may wake up late and delay the rest of the group. We try send different vehicles to pick other persons but sometimes there are hiccups. We will review our pick up modalities and see how best we can avoid delays and keep updating clients at their hotels if any delay is to occur.
It is currently raining in Nairobi and the drainage system on the roads is not very efficient thus a driver leaving home with a clean van or land cruiser will get to the hotel or pick up point with the vehicle having been splashed on not very clean water from pot holes and passing vehicles. This sometimes is unavoidable during the rainy season. We ensure the vehicle is clean inside and provide our drivers with funds to clean the vehicle after game drives at camps and lodges where this service is provided but in some areas this is not possible till you get to a nearby town if you are on a longer safari. If the van is not clean on the inside then this is driver negligence and we have checks to ensure this does not happen.
On a budget camping safari accommodation provided is clean and comfortable but not luxury that is why we indicate this is a budget safari. The tents are basic stand alone, with beds, sheets and bed covers, shower and toilet at the back of the tent. This accommodation is for persons not interested in luxury accommodation which can also be booked for you as per your request. We try advise clients on what to expect but at times expectations and what is on the ground get mixed up. It is therefore important for us to work together so that we are able to provide the services we promise. We value our clients feed back and will work on all the issues mentioned to ensure better services in future. Our clients satisfaction means a lot to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“3 day Maasai Mara safari”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We highly recommend Explorer Kenya. Peter our driver picked us up in Nairobi and took us on a road with a view of the great rift valley and on to Masai Mara. Everything was very well organized with an evening game drive the day we got there, a whole day game drive the next and a very early morning game drive the last day. We were there in late September and had just missed the last of the great migration, but we saw almost everything we wanted to see with the exception of rhinos. We will definitely try to catch the migration next time we go

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“5 day Tsavo-Amboseli-Nairobi safari”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We highly recommend Explorer Kenya. John Kariuki picked us up from Mombasa and gave us a 4 day trip through the different environments of East and West Tsavo and Amboseli that was just fantastic. By the end, we had seen everything but rhino so we booked John for another day and spent it in Nairobi game park, where we saw four. John is a very safe and skilled driver, vastly knowledgeable about game and birds (and all things Kenyan for that matter) and has a wonderfully dry sense of humour. And we strongly recommend paying a bit more to get a proper landrover-type truck rather than a minibus - it made a big difference in room and comfort. We will definitely use Explorer Kenya again. Asante sana guys, John especially.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
“Great!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We went for an 8 day tour in Maasai Mara, Amboseli, Nakuru and Naivasha and it was simply amazing! everything was very well organised and our driver, Steve, was the best driver ever! I really recommend Explorer Kenya - and ask for Steve when you book ;)

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Explorer Kenya - Safari Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Explorer Kenya - Safari Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.