We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing atmosphere and ambience coupled with great food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mediterraneo Gigiri

Mediterraneo Gigiri
United Nations Avenue | Gigiri, Nairobi, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #118 of 314 restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Nairobi Central Business District
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Amazing atmosphere and ambience coupled with great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

A fantastic little restaurant nestled away in the heart of Gigiri. You'd be hard pressed to think you were in Nairobi!

Beautifully presented and decorated restaurant especially at night time under the shades and candle light. Attentive and friendly wait staff.

Great selection of food (may be a little limited for vegetarians). Recommend the stuffed mushrooms as an entree and ravioli in cream sauce. Any of the desserts are worth saving space for!

One of the best Italian restaurants in Kenya!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

63% Recommend
    8
    13
    5
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
213 helpful votes 213 helpful votes
“A solid lunch option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I have not been here for supper, but lunch is always good. If you are full-blooded Italian, it might not meet all your standards, but for those of us used to Italian restaurant food, they serve all the staples you would expect. They have fresh juices, a wide selection of salads, pizzas, pasta and so forth, the asparagus risotto is also recommended. Service is always pretty good (just as well if you are on a tight lunch break) and the portions are generous, so generous in fact that we normally just order salads and appetizers! Price-wise its a little expensive, but average for the Gigiri / Village Market area, because of the large expat presence.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Plastic wrapper found in the food and refusal to remove the dish from the bill”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Our friends invited us for dinner to Mediterraneo Gigiri. The starters were enjoyable. The problem was with the main course dish of lamb, we found a piece of white plastic in the jus, we alerted our waiter Henry and he took the plastic to the chef in the kitchen. Henry returned to our table and advised that the chef sent his apologies and that the plastic was from when the food was wrapped and in the fridge. I found it most unprofessional for a chef to send an apology for a serious issue via a waiter, the restaurant was extremely quiet and the chef could have taken two minutes to walk to our table and apologize himself. When we received the bill, the lamb dish was on the bill, this is really poor service again. We asked to see the manager, the manager never came, we believe that our waiter and/or the chef tried to cover up this incident from the management. So we had to pay for a meal with a piece of plastic in it and receive no explanation or apology direct from the chef or the management. Extremely disappointing!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Fair italian food at a pleasant terrace”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Large and classic choice of pasta, pizza, focacce, beef fillets ... Good service but it can be long in this busy place. Main asset are the pleasant terrace and location if you live or work near the UN area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“NINE WEST- NEW BRANCH”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

The ambiance of this restaurant is pleasant but sadly the quality of food and presentation varies from day to day. Very disappointing service with the waiters having minimal knowledge on the special menu or suggestions. The quality of the pasta sauces were appalling ; watery , lack of any salt or taste- pasta over cooked and broken. The garnishing wilted / dead leaves- and to make matters worse, served cold! One had to ask for pepper and parmesan cheese ! The pizza was cold by the time it got to the table! Just very over rated, over priced and lack of taste. Our group was disappointed.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mediterraneo Gigiri also viewed

Nairobi, Kenya
Nairobi, Kenya
 

Been to Mediterraneo Gigiri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mediterraneo Gigiri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.