We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Pizza” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mediterraneo Gigiri

Mediterraneo Gigiri
United Nations Avenue | Gigiri, Nairobi, Kenya (Highridge)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #140 of 341 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Highridge
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
“Awesome Pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

The Pizza at Mediterraneo is just the best. The cocktails were more than refreshing. The ambiance creates a cool and relaxed atmosphere.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    18
    6
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great service and ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Went with friends and loved the hospitality. The cook was great with his recommendations.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crete, Greece
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Not what it was.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

When in Westlands, this Mediterraneo was a firm favourite. Great food, good wines and lovely service. The transfer to Gigiri is a real shame. Everything good has been left behind. The food I would now rate as average. The pizzas no longer the best in town (Dolce Vita and Art Cafe are far better) and the service is haphazard. I object to anywhere that uses gas heaters to heat the air (if it's too cold, sit inside) and I strongly object to the complete con that the wine pricing has become. Be prepared to pay up to four times the retail price for a bottle of wine (instead of three times as it was in Westlands). I known I buy a lot of wine. Whilst I agree everywhere needs to make money, this is just a swindle.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi Area, Kenya
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Least Fave Italian in Kenya”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

Staff try hard but the food is a poor cousin to the other Mediterraneo's in Nairobi - I think its coasting on having alot of passing trade from the US and UN offices nearby. Food is always stodgy, never comes across as fresh, Pizza just average

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fun alfresco dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

With Medi - you know what you're going to get - good food, good service, good atmosphere. The new location offers all that and more with a very nice outdoor seating area.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mediterraneo Gigiri also viewed

 

Been to Mediterraneo Gigiri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mediterraneo Gigiri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.