We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we had stayed for longer!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Emakoko

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Emakoko
Save
You added The Emakoko to your Saves list
P.O.Box 738 | Uhuru Gardens, Nairobi GP 00517, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 134 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Bonn, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wish we had stayed for longer!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Having heard some good reports about the Emakoko, and needing to make an overnight stop in Nairobi, I asked our travel agent to book us a room for the night. BIG mistake! We should have stayed longer!!
The Emakoko was excellent from the moment Sylvester picked us up from Wilson airport to the moment he dropped us off again the next day. Our gracious host, Rachel (who was standing in for Anton and Emma at the time) made us feel very welcome on arrival and made sure we settled in straight away. I loved the décor, the colours and the comfy chairs in the public rooms and our room up on the hillside was large, warm and comfortable, with a balcony overlooking the ridge. The walk-in shower was heavenly after a day of travelling with a heap of fresh towels to wrap up in afterwards.
Before dinner, we got to meet the resident impala and watch the hippo down by the river. Both dinner and breakfast were taken in the semi-open dining room, and served up by the helpful and efficient team. After dinner we finished off with coffee in the sitting area by the fire (it was a chilly evening) with Rachel, who sorted out the logistics for our pick up in the morning, before being escorted up to our room for a good night's sleep. Drifting off to sleep listening to the sound of a lion somewhere in the distance - yet so close to a major city centre - was unique.
We had breakfast before Sylvester took us back to Wilson Airport but not before a game drive through the Park in the wonderful early morning light, and it’s not every day you stop to watch rhino and giraffe on your way to catch a flight.
With the location and the facilities that the Emakoko offer, we can see the attraction for visitors stopping on their way to or from a safari, but it’s also definitely worth using as a destination in itself on the edge of Nairobi National Park for a relaxing break from the hustle and bustle that is Nairobi. We will definitely be back to stay longer next time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
43
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed at the Emakoko at the beginning of our safari. When the safari company told us that we could go on a game drive there, I thought they were joking. With all the wonderful camps we were going to, why would we go on a game drive in Nairobi? Well, we were surprised. There is a lot of game right in the national park next to Nairobi. We have some delightful pictures of rhinos with the Nairobi skyline behind them and of giraffes with airplanes overhead. There was a lot to see and rather than just be a place to hang until our safari started, it was very much a part of the safari. The lodge is a charming place with comfortable rooms and good food and service. If you are going to spend time in Nairobi and you don't want to be in the city, the Emakoko is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed one night at the Emakoko as our final stop before flying home from Nairobi. We were very happy with our choice vs. staying in other parts of Nairobi. Some of our family were suffering from exhaustion and a little too much of Africa after two plus weeks in the bush (we are all around 70) and too tired to even go out to the nearby Sheldrick Elephant Orphanage as my wife and I did, but those who stayed were content to just hang out at the lodge all day as the setting is so beautiful. Anton, Emma and their staff were always around and helpful. Sylvester, our driver, was exceptionally caring and helpful. One negative with the rooms was that on a hot day (no A/C and thus windows open) the mosquitos did get into the room and inflicted some damage to all of us despite our counterattack with Doom.

Room Tip: BEWARE: the rooms on the top level require climbing well over 100 steps! My wife and I took that roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emandant, Owner at The Emakoko, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review with very helpful feedback, we will look into all of the issues that you have raised and hope that should you come back you will see a difference.

Many thanks
Anthony & Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This lodge is comparable to none in Nairobi in terms of its location,service and the the staff in general.we stayed just for two nights prior to our safari to the Mara.We were a family of 5 that is my mum,dad and 2 brothers.we were met at the airport by Sylvester who was our guide throughout our stay in emakoko and we must admit that this guy was a sort of magician with his job when it came to guiding us through an evening game drive in the Nairobi national park because my brothers wanted to see nothing but lions at a kill feeding and when they told him,he just laughed and said that he is always patient with nature and appreciates what nature offers him at such times.We thought he was kidding but after showing us 3 rhinos and moving around the national park for approximately half an hour,he pulled up 3 lionesses and 4 juveniles feeding on a dead zebra to the amazement of my teenage brothers,my parents and I.This made us speechless because we couldn't figure out how he was able to tell where the kill was.It was so spectacular and for that we learnt to be patient with nature and to follow our instincts throughout our safari as taught by Sylvester.We cant wait to return to this wonderful lodge

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed here for three nights prior to starting our safari in Tanzania as we wanted to visit the Sheldrick Elephant orphanage. What a delightful surprise from the moment we were greeted by Rachael and the staff.

They do their utmost to meet or exceed your every need. Chef Steve is amazing! Our guide Eliziban has a passion for nature and willingly shares his knowledge with you. He ensured that we saw any beast we wanted too. He knows every inch of Nairobi National Park and every favorite spot of each animal.

The entrance to the lodge is unsurpassed. Step one is a 20 minute drive through the park. Giraffes, Ostriches, Zebras, Buffalo all greet you along the path. Step 2 is a 75' footbridge across a river to the lodge where several people are all lined up to welcome you to their home.

In the evening a local hippo climbs up from the river to munch on grass beside you as you dine in their open air restaurant. And when you leave Pallo the resident baby impala insists on a scratch or a cuddle.

Be prepared to be awoken from your sleep by the roar of a lion you hope is on the other side of the river.

If I could I would give this lodge 10 stars out of 5.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockbridge
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We were stranded in Nairobi as a result of the JKIA fire. Our agent arranged for us to stay at the Emakoko in the Nairobi National Park. You can't believe that such a fantastic hotel/lodge can be so close to Nairobi and yet be so peaceful. We cannot rate the staff highly enough - they were all so friendly and smiling and welcoming. The food was absolutely delicious and both the owners and the kitchen staff were incredibly accommodating with our extremely fussy teenager's dislikes of various foods.... nothing was too much trouble. Having stayed in the middle of Nairobi on other occasions, I would choose the Emakoko at every opportunity instead. We were disappointed with our trip to Zanzibar being cancelled because of the fire, but the Emakoko was a welcome respite from all the chaos.

Room Tip: All the rooms I'm sure are all as beautifully done as our three rooms were, but if you are perha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We added an extra night at the beginning of our holiday to allow for any problems during our travel from North America, and since we had two nights in the Nairobi area, Emakoko was recommended as a great place to start our safari. We arrived late and the warm welcome was the perfect start to our holiday. The management and staff at Emakoko were fantastic and after only two days we felt like we were leaving family behind. The rooms, food, and attention to detail were all incredible. This was our first trip to Africa and after a few minutes at Emakoko any worries we had were long gone!

Being surrounded by a major city, Nairobi National Park is a real surprise. During our short visit we thoroughly enjoyed our safari drives with close-up sightings of Giraffe, Zebra, Lion, White Rhino, and many other animals. Our Emakoko guide, Newton, was wonderful and we thoroughly enjoyed our time with him.

Our vacation in Kenya was absolutely incredible and we are already planning a return trip. When we do, we will certainly plan a stay at Emakoko as part of our itinerary.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.0 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#1 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 177 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#3 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 408 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#10 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#8 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 190 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
0.0 mi away
Giraffe Manor
Giraffe Manor
#1 of 134 in Nairobi
5.0 of 5 stars 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Emakoko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Emakoko

Address: P.O.Box 738 | Uhuru Gardens, Nairobi GP 00517, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 134 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Emakoko is a 20 bed lodge bordering Nairobi national park, only 25 minutes from all the main city airports & attractions. The Emakoko allows people to start and finish their safari in the wild environment they have travelled to enjoy. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Emakoko, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.