We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“COMPARABLE TO NONE IN NAIROBI” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Emakoko

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Emakoko
Save
You added The Emakoko to your Saves list
P.O.Box 738 | Uhuru Gardens, Nairobi GP 00517, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 123 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“COMPARABLE TO NONE IN NAIROBI”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This lodge is comparable to none in Nairobi in terms of its location,service and the the staff in general.we stayed just for two nights prior to our safari to the Mara.We were a family of 5 that is my mum,dad and 2 brothers.we were met at the airport by Sylvester who was our guide throughout our stay in emakoko and we must admit that this guy was a sort of magician with his job when it came to guiding us through an evening game drive in the Nairobi national park because my brothers wanted to see nothing but lions at a kill feeding and when they told him,he just laughed and said that he is always patient with nature and appreciates what nature offers him at such times.We thought he was kidding but after showing us 3 rhinos and moving around the national park for approximately half an hour,he pulled up 3 lionesses and 4 juveniles feeding on a dead zebra to the amazement of my teenage brothers,my parents and I.This made us speechless because we couldn't figure out how he was able to tell where the kill was.It was so spectacular and for that we learnt to be patient with nature and to follow our instincts throughout our safari as taught by Sylvester.We cant wait to return to this wonderful lodge

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
33
7
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Penticton, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights prior to starting our safari in Tanzania as we wanted to visit the Sheldrick Elephant orphanage. What a delightful surprise from the moment we were greeted by Rachael and the staff.

They do their utmost to meet or exceed your every need. Chef Steve is amazing! Our guide Eliziban has a passion for nature and willingly shares his knowledge with you. He ensured that we saw any beast we wanted too. He knows every inch of Nairobi National Park and every favorite spot of each animal.

The entrance to the lodge is unsurpassed. Step one is a 20 minute drive through the park. Giraffes, Ostriches, Zebras, Buffalo all greet you along the path. Step 2 is a 75' footbridge across a river to the lodge where several people are all lined up to welcome you to their home.

In the evening a local hippo climbs up from the river to munch on grass beside you as you dine in their open air restaurant. And when you leave Pallo the resident baby impala insists on a scratch or a cuddle.

Be prepared to be awoken from your sleep by the roar of a lion you hope is on the other side of the river.

If I could I would give this lodge 10 stars out of 5.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockbridge
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We were stranded in Nairobi as a result of the JKIA fire. Our agent arranged for us to stay at the Emakoko in the Nairobi National Park. You can't believe that such a fantastic hotel/lodge can be so close to Nairobi and yet be so peaceful. We cannot rate the staff highly enough - they were all so friendly and smiling and welcoming. The food was absolutely delicious and both the owners and the kitchen staff were incredibly accommodating with our extremely fussy teenager's dislikes of various foods.... nothing was too much trouble. Having stayed in the middle of Nairobi on other occasions, I would choose the Emakoko at every opportunity instead. We were disappointed with our trip to Zanzibar being cancelled because of the fire, but the Emakoko was a welcome respite from all the chaos.

Room Tip: All the rooms I'm sure are all as beautifully done as our three rooms were, but if you are perha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We added an extra night at the beginning of our holiday to allow for any problems during our travel from North America, and since we had two nights in the Nairobi area, Emakoko was recommended as a great place to start our safari. We arrived late and the warm welcome was the perfect start to our holiday. The management and staff at Emakoko were fantastic and after only two days we felt like we were leaving family behind. The rooms, food, and attention to detail were all incredible. This was our first trip to Africa and after a few minutes at Emakoko any worries we had were long gone!

Being surrounded by a major city, Nairobi National Park is a real surprise. During our short visit we thoroughly enjoyed our safari drives with close-up sightings of Giraffe, Zebra, Lion, White Rhino, and many other animals. Our Emakoko guide, Newton, was wonderful and we thoroughly enjoyed our time with him.

Our vacation in Kenya was absolutely incredible and we are already planning a return trip. When we do, we will certainly plan a stay at Emakoko as part of our itinerary.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islamabad, Pakistan
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This has to be the best place to stay in Nairobi. Serene, peaceful and soothing stay just 20 minute s out of the chaos of Nairobi. Within 15 minutes of the airport was in the middle of the African savanah - watching zebras, giraffes, ostriches and wild hogs as we drove through the Nairobi National Park to get to the lodge. The room given to me was on the ridge with a breathtaking view from the balcony and a bathtub overlooking the park....just awesome. The candlelight dinner was also perfect and, as I was fasting, the requested breakfast service at 5 am was on the dot. Overall , it was a perfect stay. Within a day of long flights and jet lag.....I feel reinvigorated and freshened up to take on the Nairobi chaos. Don't miss it if you come to Nairobi.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blantyre, Malawi
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

An amazing lodge run by 2 energetic fun loving managers Anton and Emma. The lodge is beautifully designed in the heart of the park making it a perfect get away from the city centre or a last night stop before going a short peaceful drive to the airport only 20-25 mins away. Fantastic food. Superb staff. Wild life all around you.... Perfect.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

If you're staying in the Nairobi area you can't beat the Emakoko.
We recently spent 2 nights there at the end of a lengthy safari
adventure and it was the perfect send-off for our trip. The setting
is wonderful as is the cabin. It is large and well furnished and
affords excellent views of the landscape while maintaining your
privacy. We had a lower unit which worked well for us "seniors."
We checked out the cabins on the upper lever &, while providing
a beautiful vista, we were happy with our cabin situation closer
to the main lodge. Emma and Anton are perfect hosts. Anton
joined us for several meals & arranged for a wonderful dinner
on the lawn while we listened to a hippo and many buffalo graze
not far away. The other staff members are equally personable
and made us feel quite at home. Our thanks to Chris with whom
we exchanged "war stories" over a drink And, our thanks to
Elizaban who handled the airport transfers and park game drives.
He also drove us to the Sheldrick Elephant Orphanage, one of
many unforgettable experiences on the trip. We will certainly
recommend Emakoko to family/friends traveling to the area and
we hope to return in a few years. Thanks Anton and good luck
on the soccer field.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Emakoko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Emakoko

Address: P.O.Box 738 | Uhuru Gardens, Nairobi GP 00517, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 123 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Emakoko is a 20 bed lodge bordering Nairobi national park, only 25 minutes from all the main city airports & attractions. The Emakoko allows people to start and finish their safari in the wild environment they have travelled to enjoy. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Emakoko, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.