We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second to none” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Emakoko

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Emakoko
P.O.Box 738 | Uhuru Gardens, Nairobi GP 00517, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Second to none”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

First and foremost I must state that for all the time my wife and I have been on safari,we have never experienced the kind of hospitality we got when we stayed in this property.
Right from the airport we were met by Sylvester who was our driver guide throuhout the time we spent in Emakoko,he was a soft spoken guy whose defensive driving skills,knowledge of the wildlife in the nairobi park and knowledge of the international current affairs made us very happy during our stay.he took us to the elephant orphanage and to the city centre for shopping and here we were left speechless how he was manouvering with alot of ease in a very bad traffic without any incident while at the same time informing us about Nairobi though we were informed later on by Anton that Syl was a driving trainer before coming to work for the lodge.
The rooms,food are excellent and other staff members are also very friendly and helpful.
we take this opportunity to reccommend this lodge for anybody who wants total piece of mind and the finest Kenyan hospitality!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    63
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
22
5
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This absolute gem sits across a foot bridge from the Nairobi National Park. It is accessible from the park itself or the road outside the park and they will pick you up at the airport or elsewhere in Nairobi. The setting is fabulous with animals from the area visiting. Each house is beautifully appointed, the staff is highly engaged in making one feel comfortable, food is excellent. Compared to the hubbub of the city, this gem offers the views and sounds of nature and Nairobi as it was. The hotel is new but the design and appointments give one the feeling of absolute peace. After a long flight or a day of business and traffic, this is the perfect place to stay as a gateway to a longer trip into Kenya or as a place for meeting a quiet.

Room Tip: All rooms have a gorgeous view and mine had a view from the marvelous bath tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

The Emakoko is absolutely superb. I travel a lot through Africa and for a city destination this cannot be beaten. The food, accommodations, service and management are second to none. I awoke in the morning to the roar of a lion in the distance and had breakfast watching bushbuck and impala 50 yards away.I wish I had stayed longer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This is a wonderful lodge in Nairobi Park just outside the city of Nairobi. You will think you are in a nature reserve and you are!!! The traffic in Nairobi is legendary - and terrible and at Emakoko you can escape almost all of it (and get to the airports on time). Anton and Emma make you feel right at home. Food is certainly gourmet and served in a lovely dining area. You can watch birds and wildlife right from your private balcony. This is the elegant way to escape the city and there are game drives as well. We saw rhino, buffalo, impala, lion, giraffe, etc all just driving into and out of the lodge. We have stayed in many game lodges in Africa and this is a match for any of them and a great way to start or end a Safari if you are flying out of Wilson Airport or Jomo Kenyatta. You can really get stuck in traffic at times with the city hotels.

There is also a lovely pool although we did not partake of that. They can arrange activities for you. We went shopping to some of the craft shops and also went to the Sheldrick Elepant Orphan's Project which is in the Park.

Room Tip: It appeared to us that all rooms overlook the reserve and all balconies would have a good view. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying at the Emakoko at the beginning and end of our safari trip and would recommend it to anyone staying overnight in Nairobi. We were a bit cautious passing through Nairobi since it was our first time in Kenya, but this place made it quite enjoyable.
We were fortunate enough to have our safari company recommend this place to us because it was an absolutely perfect way to start our trip to the bush - the location, accommodations, and staff could not be better. We were greeted at the airport by Elizabon and were able to enjoy a mini game drive en route to the lodge through Nairobi National Park, then warmly welcomed by Anton, Emma, and the whole staff. We were also lucky to get a a private game drive as the sun went down, along with many Tuskers and wine. Dinner was spectacular, and the staff couldn't be nicer - we were treated like family.
We stopped in for a day room at the end of our trip and again were met with the same warm welcome as the first time through, as if we were family...it was like coming home. Our only regret is that we didn't have enough time here since we could have easily stayed for a few days longer. If our future travels take us back through eastern Africa, we will make it a point to stay at the Emakoko again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This was the first time my husband and I had ever travelled to Kenya or even Africa and so we were a little nervous. Arriving late at night at the international airport we had to spend the night in or around Nairobi before setting off to our safari camps. Our travel agent suggested we stay at this very new lodge that boarders Nairobi National Park. In fact, after a 20 minute drive from the airport, you drive through the national park to reach Emakoko. We even saw lions at night during the drive. Our driver from Emmakok who picked us up at the airport, Elizaban, was extremely knowledgeable and friendly. We truly began our safari the minute we set foot out of the Nairobi airport as Elizeban told us about every animal we encountered while driving through the Nairobi National Park on route to Emakoko. Arriving at the lodge was amazing as we were greeted by all of the lodge staff, along with the owners, and we were offered a candle lit dinner in the dinning room before being taken to our private lodge. The temperature was cold upon our arrival and so we so appreciated our cozy bedroom with a burning fire in the fireplace. The facilities were wonderful, the hospitality outstanding, and the ambience incredible. The only barrier separating Emakoko from the park is the river. The rooms consist of private lodge-like facilities with a sitting room, en suit bathroom, and wide veranda. I cannot imagine a more wonderful place to start one's safari from. The only negative from tourist perspective is that the electricity does not run 24 hours a day. This is understandable because Emakoko prides itself on being eco friendly. Thus, the generator only operates after 6:00 p.m. and is turned off off after 10:00 p.m. We stayed at Emakoko again for the last night in Kenya before flying home. Arriving during the day meant we could not connect our electronic devices to electricity until after 6:00 p.m. Jane & Nicolai

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emandant, Owner at The Emakoko, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you so very much for chosing The Emakoko as a Nairobi destination and thank you even more for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We appreciate this enormously.

I wanted to inform you that as of the 23rd of October we have finally been hooked up to the Nairobi grid and are fully enjoying 24 hour power, with the back up of the generator! While we are now on the mains, we will no doubt experience the odd power cut, but this will not affect our visitors in anyway.

Thank you once again for staying with us and being so patient about our electricity issues.

Kind regards,


Emm Childs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I was skeptical about staying in a lodge in Nairobi National Park, but as we were arriving on the BA flight from London on Saturday evening and our flight down to the beach was not until the following afternoon we allowed our travel agent to persuade us to try Emakoko.

We were met at Jomo Kenyatta and driven to the lodge – it’s rather fun going into the park when no one else is there and having a night drive. We arrived and were welcomed by Anthony and showed our room – Emma had arranged a late supper for us but having spent all day eating on the plane we weren’t hungry and my wife was tired – she had spotted someone in the bar who we had last seen in Antarctica – it’s a small world so I went to have a drink and say hello.

The following day we had a wonderful game drive – the animals are easy to see and doesn’t take the hard work that is needed in some other locations – I was amazed at the diversity and number of animals that we saw – rhino, buffalo, Grant’s and Thomson’s gazelle, zebra, ostrich and lion – we were lucky to see a total of 30 lions in a three hour period, initially three females, then two separate males, three more and then two before coming across a kill – initially we saw four separate males then a number of females before seeing more (including cubs) under a tree finishing up the remains – we were told by the rangers that there were over 20 at the kill that morning.

We were sad to leave, having only had breakfast and not sampled what we understand to be great main meals. Next time we are in Nairobi we’ll go back.

Emma and Anthony have created a wonderful place - our room was spacious and a great place to relax and unwind in – there was even a terrace on which we could relax before going to Wilson and flying down to the beach.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Emakoko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Emakoko

Address: P.O.Box 738 | Uhuru Gardens, Nairobi GP 00517, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 91 Specialty lodging in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Emakoko is a 20 bed lodge bordering Nairobi national park, only 25 minutes from all the main city airports & attractions. The Emakoko allows people to start and finish their safari in the wild environment they have travelled to enjoy. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Emakoko, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Emakoko to your Saves list