We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back again (and again)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kifaru House

Kifaru House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kifaru House
Milima Road 137 | Karen Hardy, Milima road, Nairobi, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 154 Nairobi B&B and Inns
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Back again (and again)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

This is my third visit to Kifaru and I will come back time and time again...
We were here at the beginning of our trip and as we had one night before we go off somewhere else in Nairobi we opted to come back as the house is so comfy and like home! The staff are great and the food is delicious. I have stayed here by myself and felt very welcome and this time with friends. Lovely and relaxing placed to stay in a big dirty crazy city!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
Couples
0
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

I stayed here in Nov. 2010 and May 2011. This guest house is in a beautiful and quiet residential neighborhood. It was comfortable and had a personal, honey feel that was relaxing, rather than a generic, impersonal chain. Staff were super helpful before and during my visit.

I think you can opt of self-catering, but I stayed half-board. Warm, homemade mandazis and tea in the afternoon were a pleasant surprise and a nice way to wind down. Some very cute guenon monkeys visited once or twice, too.

Like a fellow rater, I adored the resident dog who is friendly and playful.

Room Tip: There are two rooms with en suite sink and shared bath.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi Area, Kenya
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

a nice cool quiet place it is. Its the best place for you to have quality time with family, friends,......................

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

I stayed in Kifaru House for 3 days in July. After a terrible night in a cold small tent at Wildebeest Lodge it was luxury. The house is situated in a lovely garden in Karen which is a quite suburb of Nairobi. It is homely and unpretentious and close to many attractions like Kazumi Beads and The Giraffe Centre. Run by ANAW (African Network for Animal Welfare) it is a gem an well worth staying in. The staff were great and and most of all I felt at home! Thank you Sam for showing me your lovely little house. I will be back! Oh and I can also not forget the dog who became my best friend.

Room Tip: There are only two rooms and both have a lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kifaru House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kifaru House

Address: Milima Road 137 | Karen Hardy, Milima road, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kifaru House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Kifaru House to your Saves list