We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, Clean & fresh food, amazing Ambiance” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ambiance

Ambiance
101 East Manyani Rd, Nairobi, Kenya
733732868
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #192 of 384 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great service, Clean & fresh food, amazing Ambiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Making a reservation was easy. I ordered completely on the waiter's recommendation and was more than satisfied. It was a lovely experience.

> Jercocktailsonlocation.com

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JerCocktails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“GREAT FOOD”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Great service, very good food. First place in Nairobi where I had foie gras & truffle. However very empty which is surprising.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wangari M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Ambiance - Yes, Good Food - No...!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Went for dinner for a family member's birthday and ......

Yes the ambiance is impressive - especially indoors and if you can ignore the tin roof

Service is also good and the waiters are well trained on the menu but then again ..... we were the only ones dining in the restaurant..........

But...... how can a restaurant have a menu where 5 starters and two main courses require a certain essential ingredient namely famous foie gras and........ they don't have it.......! Huh? So you are told that you can't have any of those dishes........and also no escargots available either........ shocker and v. disappointing.

The food we ordered was all elegantly presented but lacked ooomph taste wise. The meats were all prepared well and as requested but the sauces and gravies were all pretty dull and flavourless. There was no sign of the Michelin French chef on this night.

The only veggies offerred as sides were red and yellow pimentos or green marrow..... Huh?...?

The wine selection was good and the B & G French red merlot was ok but not great

All in all a disappointing meal but we still enjoyed the evening and decor but not worth the money on this night.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank zippy_travelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

Went here for anniversary dinner. Very atmospheric dining area with lovely lighting. Service was excellent from start to finish including bringing over chimenia to warm us during our outdoor dining. Good wine list and varied menu. Can recommend chocolate melting heart dessert. Would go again with friends.

Helpful?
Thank kenyareviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
518 reviews
322 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“A mystery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

Went for saturday lunch. No reservation. Parking place totally full! But - i was the only guest in the restaurant... There is a spa and hairdresser in the same building so I guess thats why all the cars were there.
But its a mystery how this so perfect restaurant can be empty between 1230-1400 one saturday. The ambience is perfect. Nice view of treetops. Two turtles crawling around looking as busy as only turtles can be. Waiters who are very attentive. Only problem - I do survive that - is that they had no idea what a Dry Martini is - so they served a vermouth (Martini Dry) ...
Food --- the blini with smoked salmon was superb. The confited duckleg - a bit to welldone but really tasty. Lots of pepper but the potatogratin and the sauce were wonderful.
The icecreamdessert! Yes. A !!!
Good restaurant! Certainly I will be back!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Hans L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ambiance also viewed

 

Been to Ambiance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing