We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ambiance - Yes, Good Food - No...!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ambiance

Ambiance
101 East Manyani Rd, Nairobi, Kenya
733732868
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #93 of 341 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: The best French restaurant in town! The perfect place for gourmands, serving a special "gourmet menu" on Fridays. The French Michelin-star chef always come out to chat with the guests. Food is superb! Tasteful interior and a lovely setting in a tranquil garden. Non-expensive: Friday gourmet menu (5 courses) only 3000 KSH per person. For further opinions, look at the bottom of the Eatout-page. Should definitely be included on Tripadvisor and I am sure it would quickly get listed as one of the best restaurants in town!
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Ambiance - Yes, Good Food - No...!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Went for dinner for a family member's birthday and ......

Yes the ambiance is impressive - especially indoors and if you can ignore the tin roof

Service is also good and the waiters are well trained on the menu but then again ..... we were the only ones dining in the restaurant..........

But...... how can a restaurant have a menu where 5 starters and two main courses require a certain essential ingredient namely famous foie gras and........ they don't have it.......! Huh? So you are told that you can't have any of those dishes........and also no escargots available either........ shocker and v. disappointing.

The food we ordered was all elegantly presented but lacked ooomph taste wise. The meats were all prepared well and as requested but the sauces and gravies were all pretty dull and flavourless. There was no sign of the Michelin French chef on this night.

The only veggies offerred as sides were red and yellow pimentos or green marrow..... Huh?...?

The wine selection was good and the B & G French red merlot was ok but not great

All in all a disappointing meal but we still enjoyed the evening and decor but not worth the money on this night.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    10
    0
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Went here for anniversary dinner. Very atmospheric dining area with lovely lighting. Service was excellent from start to finish including bringing over chimenia to warm us during our outdoor dining. Good wine list and varied menu. Can recommend chocolate melting heart dessert. Would go again with friends.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
402 reviews 402 reviews
244 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
“A mystery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

Went for saturday lunch. No reservation. Parking place totally full! But - i was the only guest in the restaurant... There is a spa and hairdresser in the same building so I guess thats why all the cars were there.
But its a mystery how this so perfect restaurant can be empty between 1230-1400 one saturday. The ambience is perfect. Nice view of treetops. Two turtles crawling around looking as busy as only turtles can be. Waiters who are very attentive. Only problem - I do survive that - is that they had no idea what a Dry Martini is - so they served a vermouth (Martini Dry) ...
Food --- the blini with smoked salmon was superb. The confited duckleg - a bit to welldone but really tasty. Lots of pepper but the potatogratin and the sauce were wonderful.
The icecreamdessert! Yes. A !!!
Good restaurant! Certainly I will be back!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almaty, Kazakhstan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Must go to...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

If you are in Nairobi, even for a short time this place is a must go,
Ambiance restaurant is a tuch of France in Nairobi, eating on the terrace is simply great. Service is very good although discreet and efficient. The attention to details is omnipresent in service and dishes. It is a perfect place for either a business lunch or a romantic diner.
Talking about the food, I never was disapointed the peper steack of the lunch menu is a must try, the adaptation of the bouillabaisse is great value for money, the cassoulet has to be tried. I am going there as often as possible and although it is not a budget restaurant prices are very reasonable compared to more popular places in Nairobi. Dont forget the deserts.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Westlands Secret!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Awesome and special place!!! We were looking for a nice soup and we found this place... The food was delicious, we were 4 persons and tried different plates, presentation and taste was indescribable... You can feel each ingredient and how it was cooked! Pumpkin soup is delicious! Ostrich perfectly cooked! Tasty crepes... For sure we will go back!
Awesome personnel, dedicated and really nice... We had a lovely night!!!!

Asante Asana!!!! Merci!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ambiance also viewed

 

Been to Ambiance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambiance, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.