We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful decor and yummy dishes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ambiance

Ambiance
101 East Manyani Rd, Nairobi, Kenya
733732868
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #125 of 354 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: The best French restaurant in town! The perfect place for gourmands, serving a special "gourmet menu" on Fridays. The French Michelin-star chef always come out to chat with the guests. Food is superb! Tasteful interior and a lovely setting in a tranquil garden. Non-expensive: Friday gourmet menu (5 courses) only 3000 KSH per person. For further opinions, look at the bottom of the Eatout-page. Should definitely be included on Tripadvisor and I am sure it would quickly get listed as one of the best restaurants in town!
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful decor and yummy dishes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

I had late night dinner with three friends. On this occasion there was another couple in the restaurant. We enjoyed the attentiveness we received since it was not a busy evening. Since it was a chillier night they brought those large pot fire warmers closer to our table and the waiter was quick to assist us with placing our purses in a well thought out aspect of ambiance "make you feel at home" atmosphere. the food was yummy and we all enjoyed our different choices. Despite it being pricey, it was a great evening and I would treat myself more often when I am in Nairobi. The decor was beautiful, service was quick, waiters were attentive and friendly.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    10
    0
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
67 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good bistro food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Went to Ambiance for about the 5th time today and it evades me why this place is always empty. The food is superb - as far as I know it is the only place in Nairobi that you can get foie gras cooked perfectly. This alone deserves recognition! The outdoor seating is lovely and really makes you feel like having a long lunch...

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Rustic French Dishes... Parisienne size servings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

This restaurant is expensive. The food is nice. The decor is good... and almost everything is Ambience branded. The place was pretty empty. Aside from our table just one other couple. I don't think this place is aimed at Kenyan Middle Class customers, just the expenses claiming ex pats. Also servings were small. Beautifully presented. But small. And it seems like the smaller the serving the higher the bill. They have 1 desert at around $150 US. We didn't buy that so don't know how small or tasty that would be.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
78 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Secure compound. Attractive environment. I enjoy the food immensely. Only complaint - restaurant has been nearly empty on each of my visits. Enjoyed it when hosting a private party. Found the emptiness to be uncomfortable when meeting just a few friends.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

The ambiance in this restaurant is fantastic and great for conversations. The french food has great flavours and is delicately cooked by the owner chef. It is in a quiet part of lavington and is one of those cool places for a small party of 30. What a hidden gem that is not well known.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ambiance also viewed

 
Nairobi, Kenya
Nairobi, Kenya
 

Been to Ambiance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambiance, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.