We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible service!!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Osteria Gigiri

Osteria Gigiri
Limuru Road | Inside the Village Market, 1st Floor., Nairobi, Kenya
020 7122661
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #54 of 324 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Terrible service!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I could not find Osteria warwick centre on tripadvisor but since it is located in gigiri, this is the closest connection I thought.

I went to this restaurant with a friend on the 26/08/2013 and was very disappointed. There is some construction work going on at Warwick centre hence the outside sitting of the restaurant has terrible views of cement bags and tools! There was absolutely no music, nor any live band to entertain the guests. My friend and I ordered a cocktail. My friends cocktail came after 30 mins and it was more like a mocktail hence he had to send it back and ask them to add an extra shot of vodka. After another 40 mins they came and advised me that my cocktail was not possible as they had run out of strawerries.I was shocked! It took them 1hr 10 mins to come and tell me that they couldnt prepare a drink!!

We finally waited for the food. The bruschetta in the starters menu was impressive.My friend ordered a linguine with brocolli as a main dish which was sooo dry and it wasnt nice at all. My gnocchi was alright. In the end as a way of "sorry" they offered a tiramisu on the house - which might I add tasted old and bitter much like the taste osteria warwick centre left in my mouth!

A tip - reading the reviews for other osterias,it looks like the village centre one is good if one MUST visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    23
    4
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice food and ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Located in the Village Market, Gigiri.
The best lamb chops in the city! Juicy, tasty, simply delicious! Candles on the tables, makes it a special dinner along with the nice jazz small trio they have. Perfect!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“what a surprise!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Came here with some of the girls, and we all were so happy with our dishes.
I ordered the fresh gnocchi, it was terrific. highly recommended if you want fresh and fanastic Italian!!!
The ravioli, was great as well as the other pasta dished we tried.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

it was my daughters birthday and was a special occassion. We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner.
which was steak, ravioli, chicken and fish .
The decor is nice and it a beautiful place.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Italian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I tried the ravioli from the menu one evening, which was done very nicely. Some great innovative ides to choose from. The lunch special for KES 1000 is great value for money and one day I had beautiful fillet steak that melted in your mouth. The bruschetta that comes with every meal is made fresh and is full of colour and flavour. Another favourite place to eat in Nairobi

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria Gigiri also viewed

 

Been to Osteria Gigiri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osteria Gigiri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.