We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food and ambience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Osteria Gigiri

Osteria Gigiri
Limuru Road | Inside the Village Market, 1st Floor., Nairobi, Kenya
020 7122661
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #38 of 301 restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice food and ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Located in the Village Market, Gigiri.
The best lamb chops in the city! Juicy, tasty, simply delicious! Candles on the tables, makes it a special dinner along with the nice jazz small trio they have. Perfect!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    19
    18
    3
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“what a surprise!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Came here with some of the girls, and we all were so happy with our dishes.
I ordered the fresh gnocchi, it was terrific. highly recommended if you want fresh and fanastic Italian!!!
The ravioli, was great as well as the other pasta dished we tried.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

it was my daughters birthday and was a special occassion. We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner.
which was steak, ravioli, chicken and fish .
The decor is nice and it a beautiful place.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Italian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I tried the ravioli from the menu one evening, which was done very nicely. Some great innovative ides to choose from. The lunch special for KES 1000 is great value for money and one day I had beautiful fillet steak that melted in your mouth. The bruschetta that comes with every meal is made fresh and is full of colour and flavour. Another favourite place to eat in Nairobi

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karachi, Pakistan
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Village Market gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

If you take the time to drive out to the Village Market, plan the timing of your trip to include dinner at Osteria Gigiri. The decor is nothing to write home about, but you're not there for the view ... it's the food.

The menu has a number of excellent choices and even some surprising ones. I am partial to a good pasta dish that is served with Gorgonzola cheese -- I wasn't disappointed. Friends had lasagna, another had lamb; and a third chicken ... all of the dishes were delicious. Also, the complementary bruschetta is to die for!!

A fairly good wine list that will meet the call for most, but I stuck with the half liter of the house wine and found it quite enjoyable.

Service is very good. I'm not sure where other reviews get the idea that the menu is pricey -- they must have a different view of dinner prices than I do.

Well worth the drive.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria Gigiri also viewed

 

Been to Osteria Gigiri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osteria Gigiri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.