We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love the steaks!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Osteria Gigiri

Osteria Gigiri
Limuru Road | Inside the Village Market, 1st Floor., Nairobi, Kenya
020 7122661
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #82 of 347 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Nairobi, Nairobi Area, Kenya
Level Contributor
62 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“I love the steaks!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Osteria's key strength is in blending great italian style ambiance with highly generous selections of wines and italian cuisines with great choices. I have eaten here more than 10 times and each visit has its story. the lively weekly entertainment has added more reason to frequent! Well done.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    26
    4
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice Place for Lunch or Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

the quiet environment and the very good food, would recommend for family outings and also for couples

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My maid cooks better lasgna”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Eaten in kilimani and Gigiri. My advice is don't order something you know. As it will not be how you expect. I had lasgna without cheese on top just mince and the mince tasted like it was straight from the butchers with no bolognaise or italian spices. Or flavour. At kilimani I ordered spaghetti bolognaise and it was similar, tons of meat with minimal spaghetti. We once visited the one in karen and walked out without sitting down as none of the outside tables were prepared. They were covered in leaves and the grounds were in a state of disrepair. We went on and discovered Karwn coffe gardens (tamambo) and it was on the opposite end if the scale and have been customers there ever since.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“pricey but brilliant food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We had a great night out. The food was delicious, the service was great and the atmosphere just topped the evening off. The prices are on the steep side - but at least you get good quality and quantity.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

The best thing I like about the place is the complimentary foccacia they offer - its nice n freshly out of the oven.

You dont require to reserve hence always good for last mimute plans.

Food is average. Pastas r good, perhaps avoid the soups

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria Gigiri also viewed

 
Nairobi, Kenya
 

Been to Osteria Gigiri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osteria Gigiri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.