We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place for Lunch or Dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Osteria Gigiri

Osteria Gigiri
Limuru Road | Inside the Village Market, 1st Floor., Nairobi, Kenya
020 7122661
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 327 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Nairobi
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice Place for Lunch or Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

the quiet environment and the very good food, would recommend for family outings and also for couples

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    25
    4
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“My maid cooks better lasgna”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Eaten in kilimani and Gigiri. My advice is don't order something you know. As it will not be how you expect. I had lasgna without cheese on top just mince and the mince tasted like it was straight from the butchers with no bolognaise or italian spices. Or flavour. At kilimani I ordered spaghetti bolognaise and it was similar, tons of meat with minimal spaghetti. We once visited the one in karen and walked out without sitting down as none of the outside tables were prepared. They were covered in leaves and the grounds were in a state of disrepair. We went on and discovered Karwn coffe gardens (tamambo) and it was on the opposite end if the scale and have been customers there ever since.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“pricey but brilliant food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We had a great night out. The food was delicious, the service was great and the atmosphere just topped the evening off. The prices are on the steep side - but at least you get good quality and quantity.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

The best thing I like about the place is the complimentary foccacia they offer - its nice n freshly out of the oven.

You dont require to reserve hence always good for last mimute plans.

Food is average. Pastas r good, perhaps avoid the soups

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

If you are looking for a nice romantic evening in Nairobi then this nice Italian place in the Village Market is a good bet. My wife and I went on a Friday night and the candle-lit atmosphere was lovely. It also wasn't too crowded (most likely because it was raining heavily that night), but in any event it is good to make reservations, especially on the weekends. We ordered a prawn pasta and a red snapper with tomato, onion, and capers. Both were very good -- large portions and cooked just right. We were also given a delicious starter for free, basically a bruscetta type dish but on a pizza base instead of on bread. The owner stopped by to chat during the meal which made it feel more like a family restaurant than "eating out". All in all, highly recommended for a romantic night out.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria Gigiri also viewed

 
Nairobi, Kenya
Nairobi, Kenya
 

Been to Osteria Gigiri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osteria Gigiri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.