We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pricey but brilliant food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Osteria Gigiri

Osteria Gigiri
Limuru Road | Inside the Village Market, 1st Floor., Nairobi, Kenya
020 7122661
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 322 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“pricey but brilliant food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We had a great night out. The food was delicious, the service was great and the atmosphere just topped the evening off. The prices are on the steep side - but at least you get good quality and quantity.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    23
    4
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

The best thing I like about the place is the complimentary foccacia they offer - its nice n freshly out of the oven.

You dont require to reserve hence always good for last mimute plans.

Food is average. Pastas r good, perhaps avoid the soups

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

If you are looking for a nice romantic evening in Nairobi then this nice Italian place in the Village Market is a good bet. My wife and I went on a Friday night and the candle-lit atmosphere was lovely. It also wasn't too crowded (most likely because it was raining heavily that night), but in any event it is good to make reservations, especially on the weekends. We ordered a prawn pasta and a red snapper with tomato, onion, and capers. Both were very good -- large portions and cooked just right. We were also given a delicious starter for free, basically a bruscetta type dish but on a pizza base instead of on bread. The owner stopped by to chat during the meal which made it feel more like a family restaurant than "eating out". All in all, highly recommended for a romantic night out.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Watch Out - Tax Not Included in the Menu”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Like most things in Europe or Africa, the tax or VAT is included in the price. Well, not at Osteria. They shock you with a much higher bill than what you see in the menu. Nasty trick. All other restaurants in Nairobi are not under-handed like this.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“ATMOSPHERE AND SERVICE - NOW SO MUCH THE FOOD”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

This was my second visit this year. The restaurant has great atmosphere - outdoor tables, braziers blazing away. The service is very good, the staff attentive but not overwhelming. However the food is a little disappointing. It is good but no more. That would not stop me returning but would stop me recommending for great Italian food.....go for the experience. it is probably more a case of being so popular that the kitchen simply struggles to keep up for a large group. The first visit there were three of us and the food was better. This time, with a table of 12 it lacked individual attention....steaks overcooked and pasta rather 'stodgy'. However, quite tasty and good value. House red is very drinkable.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria Gigiri also viewed

 

Been to Osteria Gigiri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osteria Gigiri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.