We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Osteria Gigiri, Village Market” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Osteria Gigiri

Osteria Gigiri
Limuru Road | Inside the Village Market, 1st Floor., Nairobi, Kenya
020 7122661
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 315 restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Osteria Gigiri, Village Market”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

This is a place where you can easily dine alone and feel part of the overal camaraderie. The staff are friendly and the food is good middle of the road Italian with better tah usual pizzas. Live music adds to the general ambience.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    19
    22
    4
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A less expensive Carnivore”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The premise is just the same as Carnivore. The restaurant is fantastic. I highly recommend it, especially if you go on an empty stomach since there is SO MUCH delicious meat to enjoy.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Warning: Hidden Price Increase”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We visited Osteria Gigiri as we have enjoyed previous visits at this location and at Del Chianti. Upon being given the menus, we noticed that all the pages were new, but the items and the prices seemed to be the same, but then we noticed the big change. At the bottom of each page it was printed that all prices EXCLUDE all taxes. This little change to the menu meant that they had increased the prices of all items by 16%.

I asked to see the manager and confronted him about the change. At first, he denied any change in the menu, but finally admitted to the price increase. I understand that restaurants must make a profit, but do not try to sneak something by your customers. If you are going to raise prices, do it in a manner than is open and honest.

We walked out before placing any order, and will not return.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Glad to see Osteria in a more convenient location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

I like the old Osteria, but its not convenient to get to for those who live near Runda etc. thus was glad to see it appear in Gigiri. I admit that the older one in Hurlingham has greater ambiance and outdoor setting, but food is still great at Gigiri location.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

This is a pleasant surprise in Nairobi with excellent menu and food at reasonable prices

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria Gigiri also viewed

 

Been to Osteria Gigiri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osteria Gigiri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.