We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A less expensive Carnivore” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Osteria Gigiri

Osteria Gigiri
Limuru Road | Inside the Village Market, 1st Floor., Nairobi, Kenya
020 7122661
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #105 of 354 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A less expensive Carnivore”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The premise is just the same as Carnivore. The restaurant is fantastic. I highly recommend it, especially if you go on an empty stomach since there is SO MUCH delicious meat to enjoy.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    26
    5
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Warning: Hidden Price Increase”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We visited Osteria Gigiri as we have enjoyed previous visits at this location and at Del Chianti. Upon being given the menus, we noticed that all the pages were new, but the items and the prices seemed to be the same, but then we noticed the big change. At the bottom of each page it was printed that all prices EXCLUDE all taxes. This little change to the menu meant that they had increased the prices of all items by 16%.

I asked to see the manager and confronted him about the change. At first, he denied any change in the menu, but finally admitted to the price increase. I understand that restaurants must make a profit, but do not try to sneak something by your customers. If you are going to raise prices, do it in a manner than is open and honest.

We walked out before placing any order, and will not return.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
150 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Glad to see Osteria in a more convenient location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

I like the old Osteria, but its not convenient to get to for those who live near Runda etc. thus was glad to see it appear in Gigiri. I admit that the older one in Hurlingham has greater ambiance and outdoor setting, but food is still great at Gigiri location.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

This is a pleasant surprise in Nairobi with excellent menu and food at reasonable prices

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi Area, Kenya
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Downhill”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

While friendly and in a useful location the way the food is put together has fallen off over the last two years. The ham on the pizza's just doesn't rate compared to what I like from Italy.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria Gigiri also viewed

 
Nairobi, Kenya
 

Been to Osteria Gigiri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osteria Gigiri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.