We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Brown's Cheese Factory & Farm

Brown's Cheese Factory & Farm
Tigoni, Nairobi, Kenya
0728999654
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 102 activities in Nairobi
Type: Farms
Attraction Details
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Overrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Getting a booking for their lunch tour had been quite difficult over the past few months. They have recently engaged a new Sales & P.R. Manager, who we thought was fantastic! She was quick to respond and was very clear about booking conditions etc. The lunch itself was okay, not worth the amount they asked for. We've been to many places like this, around the country & world, and we just didn't feel it was worth what they asked for. We didn't even get our 3 glasses of wine. The staff, I have to say, were really really good! They would be the reason I would go back. The owner herself was very indifferent to us. Not hospitable at all. I don't know if I'd go back here.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    3
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Galax, Virginia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Yummy Activity”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

After listening to friends RAVE about the Factory and farm, and after enjoying Brown's Cheese at local markets and fairs, I created a group of seven adventurous individuals and spent an afternoon enjoying Brown's hospitality and cheese.

Scheduling was easy via SMS (email didn't get a response) but it's best to try and go on a weekday. Weekends were booked for the next three months. Also note that Brown's will be closed during June of 2013 for renovations but are accepting reservations for July.

Arriving at the farm (the map idea Timeteyo gave is a good one--print it out and take it with you if your driver hasn't been there before) we enjoyed delicious homemade chips and dip and samosas accompanied by a beverage of choice. After suiting up in white jackets, gum boots, and hair nets we enjoyed an overview of the farms history and objectives and a demonstration on who cheese is made before heading out to tour the plant. Our guide was FABULOUS and put up with endless questions and took the time to make sure everyone saw everything.

The cheese sampling was wonderful as was the lunch that followed. Brown's is planning to introduce ice cream in September 2012 and we had a chance to sample it for dessert. BEST ice cream I've had in Africa!!!!

Take advantage of the opportunity to purchase cheese -- the discount is worth the trip.

Beautiful grounds, great staff, and delicious food. Great way to spend an afternoon!!!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“One of the best activities in Nairobi area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

I've been to the cheese factory twice and have recommended it to many others. It's a phenomenal experience - definitely work the drive and cost. Here are a few things to keep in mind when you visit:

1. Directions: If you are taking a taxi to the factory, print out the directions and take them with you. Although it's a great place, it's off the beaten path and is not a frequent destination - at least not to the extent that taxi drivers will know what you're talking about.

2. Cheese vs. Meal: A common comment that I have heard from visitors is confusion over the meal that is served. In the backyard of the factory, the staff serves plates with a variety of cheeses to sample, along with bread, jams, etc. And, a staff member provides a brief explanation of each one. However, that is NOT the meal. Unbelievably, there is more! So, don't stuff yourself on bread.

3. Buy Cheese: We compared prices of cheese at the factory with prices at Nakumatt in town. The difference was at least less than 50%, if not more significant. And, there are all kinds of specialty cheeses at the factory that you won't find elsewhere. If you ask nicely, they might sell you some.

4. Family: I've brought my son, who was eight years old at the time, and he thoroughly enjoyed the experience - the whole thing. It involves a bit of maturity, patience, and interest on the part of kids. But, for the right kids, it is a really terrific time.

This place is by far a highlight of visiting the Nairobi area. I live in Central Africa, so in particular appreciate the varieties that are available, as well as the challenge to status quo industry in the region. It's well worth the time and cost.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lazy Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Best cheeses in Kenya = Death by cheese!!!
Great hosts.
Great food = Death by cheese!!!
The whole family enjoyed!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worth A Visit To See Cheese Making”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Great place to visit on a weekend. See how they make various cheeses. Sample an assortment of cheeses. Enjoy their house wines. Take a walk and enjoy their mini farm environment. A lovely couple runs this place and they go out of their way for visitors that come by.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brown's Cheese Factory & Farm also viewed

 

Been to Brown's Cheese Factory & Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brown's Cheese Factory & Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Brown's Cheese Factory & Farm to your Saves list