We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy Activity” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brown's Cheese Factory & Farm

Brown's Cheese Factory & Farm
Tigoni, Nairobi, Kenya
0728999654
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 105 Activities in Nairobi
Type: Farms
Attraction Details
Galax, Virginia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Yummy Activity”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

After listening to friends RAVE about the Factory and farm, and after enjoying Brown's Cheese at local markets and fairs, I created a group of seven adventurous individuals and spent an afternoon enjoying Brown's hospitality and cheese.

Scheduling was easy via SMS (email didn't get a response) but it's best to try and go on a weekday. Weekends were booked for the next three months. Also note that Brown's will be closed during June of 2013 for renovations but are accepting reservations for July.

Arriving at the farm (the map idea Timeteyo gave is a good one--print it out and take it with you if your driver hasn't been there before) we enjoyed delicious homemade chips and dip and samosas accompanied by a beverage of choice. After suiting up in white jackets, gum boots, and hair nets we enjoyed an overview of the farms history and objectives and a demonstration on who cheese is made before heading out to tour the plant. Our guide was FABULOUS and put up with endless questions and took the time to make sure everyone saw everything.

The cheese sampling was wonderful as was the lunch that followed. Brown's is planning to introduce ice cream in September 2012 and we had a chance to sample it for dessert. BEST ice cream I've had in Africa!!!!

Take advantage of the opportunity to purchase cheese -- the discount is worth the trip.

Beautiful grounds, great staff, and delicious food. Great way to spend an afternoon!!!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    3
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“One of the best activities in Nairobi area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

I've been to the cheese factory twice and have recommended it to many others. It's a phenomenal experience - definitely work the drive and cost. Here are a few things to keep in mind when you visit:

1. Directions: If you are taking a taxi to the factory, print out the directions and take them with you. Although it's a great place, it's off the beaten path and is not a frequent destination - at least not to the extent that taxi drivers will know what you're talking about.

2. Cheese vs. Meal: A common comment that I have heard from visitors is confusion over the meal that is served. In the backyard of the factory, the staff serves plates with a variety of cheeses to sample, along with bread, jams, etc. And, a staff member provides a brief explanation of each one. However, that is NOT the meal. Unbelievably, there is more! So, don't stuff yourself on bread.

3. Buy Cheese: We compared prices of cheese at the factory with prices at Nakumatt in town. The difference was at least less than 50%, if not more significant. And, there are all kinds of specialty cheeses at the factory that you won't find elsewhere. If you ask nicely, they might sell you some.

4. Family: I've brought my son, who was eight years old at the time, and he thoroughly enjoyed the experience - the whole thing. It involves a bit of maturity, patience, and interest on the part of kids. But, for the right kids, it is a really terrific time.

This place is by far a highlight of visiting the Nairobi area. I live in Central Africa, so in particular appreciate the varieties that are available, as well as the challenge to status quo industry in the region. It's well worth the time and cost.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lazy Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Best cheeses in Kenya = Death by cheese!!!
Great hosts.
Great food = Death by cheese!!!
The whole family enjoyed!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worth A Visit To See Cheese Making”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Great place to visit on a weekend. See how they make various cheeses. Sample an assortment of cheeses. Enjoy their house wines. Take a walk and enjoy their mini farm environment. A lovely couple runs this place and they go out of their way for visitors that come by.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanyuki,Laikipia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best cheese in Africa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Actually I havent been to the factory for years, but I know its a hugely fun experience. Im just proud of the Browns and they are cousins! This is for your information the ONLY cheese that is worth buying .........

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brown's Cheese Factory & Farm also viewed

 
Limuru, Central Province
 

Been to Brown's Cheese Factory & Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brown's Cheese Factory & Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.